Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2006, 02:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
cynobacteria, should i worry!

i just moved my 55 gallon tank across town and after being setup for 3 days i have noticed that im getting a little build-up of cyno in deferent places. i have never experienced this stuff and other than hair algae, which i have defeated, have had no problems for a year.

just wondering if this is something to worry about or if it will go away. im doing all test now and when i moved i replaced about 70% with new ro/di water from my new house. ill post results to my testing soon.
__________________

__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 02:55 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
well with regular water changes, it should go away after a few weeks...give it time. you using ro/di water??
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 03:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
i just run my test and the water looks great.

amn. 0
trite. 0
trate. barley detectable
ph 8.3

the phos. is high though. .6
just checked my tap water and it reads pretty good so im not sure where it came from.

does this contribute to cyno. i know my hair algae will come back with a vengance.
__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 03:26 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
well they will thrive in high phospate environments. just make sure you are not overstocking and overfeeding fishes and invertebrates. just wait untill your tank settles in...you said that its been setup for 3 days. thats verry common for a new setup. in time they should go away..
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 04:09 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
That is pretty high on the phosphates. Make a new batch of SW and check it before you put it in the tank. That will tell us if the problem is your tank or your water source
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 04:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
tested new water and there are very low phosphate readings if any. im using the same salt (instant ocean) and have not changed anything other than the source water , which tested fine, and i used some aqua pure filter fiber to clean everything up after the move.

maybe it came from the rock. i know people have differing opinions on rock absorbing phosphate and leaking them back into the system but i cant see where it is coming from. the tank is actually around 5 years old. i bought it in bad shape about a year ago and replaced the cc with arganite sand.

all i know is that i can see the cyno getting worse by the hour. it is not bad but it was on one of my hermits shells and i got it out and cleaned it off, then just 2 hours later i see it on there again. ill order some phosgaurd this week and get that running.maybe some large water changes the first of next week.

any opinions? thanks dorian
__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 08:46 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
How often are you feeding and what? Foods give off phosphates too. You should feed your tank every other day. I definitely think that some PWC would help in this situation.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 11:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
i feed sparingly every day. dried pellets every day, algae sheet for my tang, and frozen mysis and brine shrimp every 3 days. i havent fed them much of anything since the move. probably twice in three days, all dried food.
i have never seen this in my tank and only had diatoms for about a week when i set it up a year ago. i have had the same lighting and feeding schedule for 6 months. it must be linked to the pho4 level so maybe the water changes will help. as i said before, i just cant figure out where it came from. thanks for the help.
__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 01:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 148
I'm currently having the same problem. It just appeared one day and I can't figure it out. I use ro/di and my tank tests phos at .5. I've cut back on feedings and light period, but I've noticed mine pretty much grows in areas where I have less flow. I hear old bulbs can have an effect on it also.

I'm trying to get rid of it thru PWC, less food and light before I resort to something like PhosSponge or Rowaphos. GL
__________________
Lagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 03:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
PO4 at .6 is definitely feeding this cyano. If source and newly made SW do not have PO4 the only thing left is food.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Question (redoing tank atm) - Cynobacteria carried on Java Moss HiJaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 04-28-2008 06:38 PM
Should I worry? flip_lx Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-29-2006 08:32 PM
cynobacteria problem/how to get rid of it reeftankman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-26-2005 09:01 PM
Should I Worry??? treenab Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 10-20-2003 06:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.