Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2012, 10:54 PM   #471
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
this might be a stupid question, but once i start filling the tank up... how do i get it to start circulating? like how do i get it to go down into the sump? does that one pipe in the overflow act as a siphon? lil confused
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:29 PM   #472
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
As you fill it it will overflow the overflow lol and keep draining as you add more water. Once your sump is full turn on the return and finish filling to make up for the plumbing.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:32 PM   #473
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
As you fill it it will overflow the overflow lol and keep draining as you add more water. Once your sump is full turn on the return and finish filling to make up for the plumbing.
see told ya, stupid question lol.. i was gonna start putting water in it, but i think i wanna do my rock scape before i add water, esp bc im prob gonna use epoxy
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:35 PM   #474
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
What you should do is make a tape layout of your tank dimensions and build your scape outside your tank. Build it into like 3-4 pieces (so it can be put it and taken out with the brace). This way its easy to put it back together but it will mean no major rescapes so you gotta be happy with it lol
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:37 PM   #475
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
What you should do is make a tape layout of your tank dimensions and build your scape outside your tank. Build it into like 3-4 pieces (so it can be put it and taken out with the brace). This way its easy to put it back together but it will mean no major rescapes so you gotta be happy with it lol
I was thinking of doing that! lol figured itd be easier. ive been staring at the rock thats in the tank now for like an hour and im just tryna figure out something but i wanna wait til i get my other 15lbs from BRS prob early next week
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:50 PM   #476
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Have you decided what will be going in the tank yet fish and coral wise? It can really help with scaping.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:55 PM   #477
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
Have you decided what will be going in the tank yet fish and coral wise? It can really help with scaping.
well i plan on getting a snowflake eel and i know they like lots of "tunnels" and passage ways thru the rocks, so i know to leave a lot of holes and what not.. as far as corals go, im gonna prob do a little bit of everything, lots of zoas bc i loveee them, some LPS, some SPS maybe and of course softies..
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:44 AM   #478
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Should I rinse the pool filter sand before adding? I just picked up 100lbs
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:55 AM   #479
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya I'd rinse any substrate before adding.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:57 AM   #480
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
Ya I'd rinse any substrate before adding.
Ugh I'm gonna dread this, I hated rinsing 200lbs for my 180G tank lol
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
90 gallon, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.