Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-09-2012, 08:28 PM   #891
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dary421's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego,ca
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlsardina

I got wise eventually and have them all mounted on the wall now and zip ties are my friend. Just make sure you label your chords!
Lol,..most of my timers are from Walmart !!! .... And I've got more zip ties than I care to admit,..even got a couple that are a 2 1/2 feet long holding up something or another.... Not in much better shape than anyone else,...I just happened to get one ecotech pump to replace two of the four koralias that I currently running in the tank ,. And I know what you mean about labeling your cords ,.sometimes it's like following a piece of spaghetti on a plate to find the one to unplug . We should have a contest to see who has the most cords ( fire hazards ) under , over ,and thru their tanks,..that would be scary.... Really scary. :-/
__________________

__________________
Dary421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:42 PM   #892
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dary421

Lol,..most of my timers are from Walmart !!! .... And I've got more zip ties than I care to admit,..even got a couple that are a 2 1/2 feet long holding up something or another.... Not in much better shape than anyone else,...I just happened to get one ecotech pump to replace two of the four koralias that I currently running in the tank ,. And I know what you mean about labeling your cords ,.sometimes it's like following a piece of spaghetti on a plate to find the one to unplug . We should have a contest to see who has the most cords ( fire hazards ) under , over ,and thru their tanks,..that would be scary.... Really scary. :-/
At least with all our fire hazards we have the two best sources for putting out a fire. Just not electric ones. Lol. Smh
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:39 PM   #893
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibrahim

Ouch that hurt! I'm using rio pumps now and was going to buy Oddysea led strips lol
Lol sorry! I haven't looked into led strips from them yet but I know their t5s were dangerous. Almost caught my house on fire. It was a power supply issue. But rio... Man, you gotta upgrade!
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 09:52 PM   #894
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmorecowbell

Lol sorry! I haven't looked into led strips from them yet but I know their t5s were dangerous. Almost caught my house on fire. It was a power supply issue. But rio... Man, you gotta upgrade!
Lol it's for my phosphate reactor. My return is a mag. Wow sorry to hear that. I've used their t5s and and halides with no problems but I wouldve gone with a different fixture from the beginning if I knew what I know now. I'm running Nova extreme 4 bulb t5 but the algae is making my tank look ehhh
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:20 PM   #895
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibrahim

Lol it's for my phosphate reactor. My return is a mag. Wow sorry to hear that. I've used their t5s and and halides with no problems but I wouldve gone with a different fixture from the beginning if I knew what I know now. I'm running Nova extreme 4 bulb t5 but the algae is making my tank look ehhh
I was in contact with odyssea before I ordered my t5 and the overheating issue is resolved and they are now backed with a 2 year warranty just something to consider
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:30 PM   #896
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Yeah I though it was too. I've used my 608w halide/t5s (now sold) for over 2 years with no problems. But it would get real hot to the touch
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:35 PM   #897
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibrahim

Lol it's for my phosphate reactor. My return is a mag. Wow sorry to hear that. I've used their t5s and and halides with no problems but I wouldve gone with a different fixture from the beginning if I knew what I know now. I'm running Nova extreme 4 bulb t5 but the algae is making my tank look ehhh
I have a rio on my reactor as well. It's cheap but does the job!
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:51 PM   #898
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
I have one on my skimmer and something is wrong with it, its starting to make some odd noises. Still does the job though.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:52 PM   #899
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan-peddle

I was in contact with odyssea before I ordered my t5 and the overheating issue is resolved and they are now backed with a 2 year warranty just something to consider
I did buy mine a while ago, I'm glad they fixed their issues. I might be willing to buy from them again if they did fix everything.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:53 PM   #900
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by needmorecowbell

I did buy mine a while ago, I'm glad they fixed their issues. I might be willing to buy from them again if they did fix everything.
I bought a 24" 4 bulb a couple months ago with stock lights and it grew LPS pretty easily.
__________________

__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.