Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-28-2012, 06:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Dead lipstick tang

Came down this morning to find my lipstick tang was dead, my urchin and neon crab was eating it,,,,,, we did a 10% water change yest as my levels were as follows,,,PH-8, PHOSPHATE-0.5-1,NITRATE-10-25,NITRITE-0,AMMONIA-0,S.G-1.022....should I do another water change and need advise as I'm new to the hobby and just fear I may have over stocked to quick....

Old 10-28-2012, 08:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Your tank has only been set up 2 weeks correct? There shouldn't be nothing in your tank but lr. It takes 4-6 weeks for a tank to cycle. Yours probably has not even started yet. I would take all fish and corals back to where you got them, them most likely will not make it thru the cycle. 4-6 weeks for a cycle, then only a CUC, 3-5 weeks later then add 1 fish, wait 3-4 weeks before adding the second ect. Your biological filter is strained everytime you add something, it needs time to grow after each addition. So from the day you start you tank, it should be 10-12 weeks before any fish are introduced.

Old 10-28-2012, 08:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

The tank is in its 4th week,,, their is no corals only fish an clean up crew, I feed them every other day. I did a 10% water change yest and another 10% today. The lfs said it would be fine if we fed them every other day but won't take them back, we check our water every week and all seems well until yest hence the 10% yest. Thank you for your comment.
Old 10-28-2012, 08:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Keep in mind your lfs is in business to sell you everything they can, fish and corals before the tank is ready magic potions, unneeded equipment ect.,
Old 10-28-2012, 09:14 AM   #5