Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-28-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Deep Sand Bed?

Hey, so like I've said before, I will be starting up my first saltwater aquarium. It will be a mixed reef tank and I want to try to make mistakes to a minimum . There has been a lot of debate on deep sand beds or shallow sand beds so I am confused on what to believe since I am new and all So I have some basic background info about this topic, but I want to know if it will be the right thing for the system I am setting up. I will add beneficial worms and snails to the system to help, but I won't be getting LR so I will probably be missing on other beneficial creatures? Anyway, any feedback or suggestions or info on this would be great ! I don't want my sand getting black and releasing toxins into the water, killing all the life. Rather do this the right way!

Old 03-29-2012, 11:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

Does anyone have any input? I'm also wondering which would be a better choice...deep sand bed in the refugium or just rock. I'm leaning towards sand, but I will definitely consider any suggestions. Thanks

Old 03-29-2012, 11:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousclam120 View Post
but I won't be getting LR
what do you plan to stock with? I've seen a pretty neat thread with a sunken battleship
Old 03-29-2012, 11:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular

I would stock it with chaetomorpha-macro algae. Lots of worms and snails that sift through the sand...like bristle worms and such. Amphipods and Copepods would be directly added. What do you think?
Old 03-30-2012, 12:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak