Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-12-2006, 01:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Diary of my first saltwater tank...Awesome.

Hey everybody, I'm new to the saltwater forum. I just got my new 37 gallon tank that I want to build a reef in and have a lot of questions.

First off, I want to run a Rena Filstar xP1 on it and a good skimmer (don't know anything about skimmers). Where is the CHEAPEST place on the internet to buy an xP1 and what kind of skimmer would you suggest for this size tank.

Also if you have any helpful advice that is unique to setting up and maintaining a saltwater aquarium...please let me know. I've got several successful freshwater aquariums but this is a whole new ball game for me.

Thanks.
-Brad
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc01266_146.jpg (63.3 KB, 32 views)

Old 09-12-2006, 09:39 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

People get pretty good deals on ebay. Read articles above and do a fishless cycle. Welcome to SW

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 09:51 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Robert Fenner's "Conscientious Marine Aquarist" would also be a good start - except for the part about cycling with fish. Old book, but still a good read.

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 09:58 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award