Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-25-2015, 04:55 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 435
Dinoflagellate requires light that's why it vanished from DT then come back once lights where put back on
__________________

__________________
Marty.h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 03:30 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty.h View Post
Dinoflagellate requires light that's why it vanished from DT then come back once lights where put back on
Yes and no, however cyano can and does behave the same way.
__________________

__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 03:42 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 435
Looking at his pictures resembles the exact issue that I had which was taking corals out
__________________
Marty.h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 05:20 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
I added another 3200lh powerhead last night slight improvement but not great


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 06:18 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Since my first post I've added 4700lph extra to the tank almost doubling the flow however brown stuff remains although it's not growing over the corals now does anyone know what this is as can be either dino or cyano?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 06:20 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1446024001.681913.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	263.4 KB
ID:	279797


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 07:52 AM   #37
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,552
I see your issue as simple, nutrients. You need to remove as much of what is plaguing your tank during water changes while you are getting the nutrient levels under control. Good ro/di water for top offs and water changes along with cutting back on feedings will go a long way.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 03:47 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
markodeniro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
I see your issue as simple, nutrients. You need to remove as much of what is plaguing your tank during water changes while you are getting the nutrient levels under control. Good ro/di water for top offs and water changes along with cutting back on feedings will go a long way.

I have always used ro/di for top offs. I currently give my fish 1 cube of either mysis or shrimp or pinch of flakes once a day with nori every other day. Is this too much? I also use phosphate removal pads in the sump for the water to filter through is it worth getting a reactor?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markodeniro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 04:27 PM   #39
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,552
You are feeding too much. I feed my reef tank every three days. Of the 5 fish, I give maybe a third of a cube of mysis.
I think reactors are always worth it when things are going out of whack in terms of water changes not being able to manage things...BUT this issue can be managed by cutting back on feedings and large water changes.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 04:49 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 435
Get a pellet reactor it will help but not strait away can take like 6 weeks for it to kick in
__________________

__________________
Marty.h is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, diatoms

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diatoms Problem Help!!!!! Lance126 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 10-06-2003 09:38 PM
Tank just cycled, clean off diatoms? boardsurfer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-20-2003 11:06 AM
Diatoms Butters Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-16-2003 10:42 PM
From diatoms to hair algae! bizzybeas Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-09-2003 05:02 PM
Yuck...diatoms! bizzybeas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-05-2003 02:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.