Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Diatoms after adding LEDs

Will they go away on their own or is there something I can do. It started about a week ago. 2 weeks after I added my new lights
__________________

__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 01:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
If this is a new tank it in the process of cycling and it will just clear itself. Just cut your lights for 8 hrs to minimize algae bloom.
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 03:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I've had it set up for 3 months. The people before me had it for a couple years. It just showed up after I upgraded my lights
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
In my humble opinion, I would look at some other things before blaming the lights right off. Diatoms are a bit different than other algaes as it composes its outer shell out of silica. A source of selenium from silica sand, certain salt mixes and even some water sources can contain silicates. Purigen can reduce selenium amounts and has worked well for me.

Stiring the sand bed can also release silicates. Aragonite has a very low silica count. While other sands have a high amount in them. Don't get silicates confused with silicon like in the seals of a glass tank. I have heard those that say silicon seals leak silicates into the water, but I personally don't believe that.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I have the crushed coral/shells sand. It started about 2 weeks ago. Not sure what salt mix it is. But since I do buy my water from a lfs it could be something they are using. My lvls are nitrates 5 ph 8.2-8.4 no trites or ammonium. Not sure about phosphates. Don't have a test for that and I'm using API test kits(I plan on getting a better kit soon)
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I have the crushed coral/shells sand. It started about 2 weeks ago. Not sure what salt mix it is. But since I do buy my water from a lfs it could be something they are using. My lvls are nitrates 5 ph 8.2-8.4 no trites or ammonium. Not sure about phosphates. Don't have a test for that and I'm using API test kits(I plan on getting a better kit soon)
You might get a small bottle of Purigen and place it in a high flow area in your system using a mesh bag. I love my Hanna test kits, especially the phosphate one. $50
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I'll give it a try. Yea I'm wanting to get Hannah's also. I've heard they a really good
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
You want phosphates below .1ppm for corals. That's not easy to see on a color card type test. Hanna does a deluxe job with consistently giving accurate data at those low levels.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I'll have one next month. Along with a hob refugium and a carbon/phosphate reactor
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I'll have one next month. Along with a hob refugium and a carbon/phosphate reactor
Order a box of reagent packages. It uses one per test. It only comes with a few.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.