Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2006, 02:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Digital Salinity Meter vs Floating Arm Hydrometer

Hey all,


I have a floating arm Hydrometer, and a Digital Salinity meter. I use to have a refractometer but it broke.

The Digital Meter says my tank is at 1.023 SG, the Floating arm Hydrometer says it is at 1.029 SG.


Which one do I believe? The digital Meter says its more accurate than refractometer's. But how do i know? The meter comes with a 30ppt calibration solution, and the meter shows 30ppt when put into the calibration solution.

Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________

__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:15 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
That probably sounds about right. The difference between my refracto and hydro was .050. Check your hydro by using distilled water, at room temp and see where 0 is. Those hydros tend to swing with the current and a whole bunch of other variables.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
That probably sounds about right. The difference between my refracto and hydro was .050. Check your hydro by using distilled water, at room temp and see where 0 is. Those hydros tend to swing with the current and a whole bunch of other variables.

What really makes me think is that If i remember correctly my old refractometer and hydrometer, where very close in their readings.


Distilled water, is that like RO/DI water?

With regular tap water, the hydrometer shows 0.00


So I should trust the Digital meter over the hydrometer?

Thanks,

-TheChad
__________________
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I would trust the digital. IME, albeit short experience, hydrometers need to be rinsed and cleaned often to prevert errant readings. Plus teh arm can trap very small air bubbles, which will also give an errant message.
__________________
Jarred Darque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 03:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 163
Trust the probe. Hydrometers are notoriously inaccurate.
__________________
Finatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 05:24 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I have to agree trust the probe
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 06:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
forget the probe I had a digi-lab it was so inaccurate that I got a hydrometer . I fount that it required frequent calibrations and alot of times it was still off ..... So much so that I got a second one and it too had the same issues . It was always off 2-3 points from the refracometer . There are refracometers that are on the market for less than the digi lab and more of a reliable source than either
this is the one we use and have found it quite accurate to other refracometers and I like it since it is easy to use


http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...ode=Hydrometer
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 06:42 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
That is the same one I use and I love it!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrensburg, IL
Posts: 568
Send a message via AIM to TheChad
How do you really know it's accurate though?

That is my issue... No matter which device I have... How do i REALLY know its accurate?

With the hydrometer reading upward of 1.030 or higher, and the digital meter showing 1.023, What is the hydrometer is actually the one that's right? Then I could potentially kill my fish...

This is my problem. I need to figure out how to find out what is really right, so i can make sure my tank is good.

-TheChad
__________________
90 Gallon Drilled Glass Tank w/ Corner Overflow: 492w (2x 150w 14,000K MH, 2x 96w Actinic CF) Coralife Aqualight Pro | Custom 34x15x15 Sump/Refugium | SWC Skimmer | Coralife Turbo-Twist 6x UV Sterilizer | Maxi-Jet Power Head w/Sure Flow Upgrade Kit | 120lbs of Live Rock | 100lbs of Live Sand
TheChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:38 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
You know it is accurate by your calibration results. If you calibrate it to RO/DI or distilled or just plain RO water you will calibrate your refractometer to 1.000 which is the true salinity of FW. Once that is correct then your salinity will be right.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
floating, hydrometer, salinity

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital SG / Salinity Meter vs. Refractometer usmcmarc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 09-07-2007 11:24 AM
Swing Arm Hydrometer Warning! Pghjeff71 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 06-05-2005 12:35 PM
digital hydrometer zach119 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-23-2005 10:59 PM
hanna digital salinty meter justDIY Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-22-2003 10:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.