DIY sump design

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bioteacher

Aquarium Advice Freak
We'd help with a new sump I am building for my 125g reef tank. I will be using a 40 gal tank, dimensions 36x18x16. The image is one I found on the Internet which I think I would like to use as my design. Before I found this picture, I was planning on having both my drain lines enter on the left into the skimmer chamber, then refugium in the middle chamber, finally return pump on the right. I have seen several designs now like the one in the image which has the return pump in the middle chamber. Any thought on which design is superior? I've never built a sump before so this is all new to me......thanks for your opinions!

I personally would go skimmer fuge return. That way the skimmer will have all of te water pass through it and it will be able to clean some water before the crap gets in the fuge. JMO

Yeah, it seems like all the commercial fuges are skimmer/fuge/return. Maybe I should follow that design.......any thoughts on baffles? Two? Three? Does 3 really reduce microbubbles better than two?

I have the exact same tank config as you. 125 DT, 40G breeder sump. I went with the skimmer-->fuge---> return config. It's a lot easier to manage than the config from the picture up top.

You need 3 baffles for the microbubble trap to work well. 2 baffles didn't make much of a difference IME.

AquaRick said:
I have the exact same tank config as you. 125 DT, 40G breeder sump. I went with the skimmer-->fuge---> return config. It's a lot easier to manage than the config from the picture up top.

You need 3 baffles for the microbubble trap to work well. 2 baffles didn't make much of a difference IME.

So would you do 3 baffles on both sides of the fuge, or just between the skimmer and the fuge?