Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
cjbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England
Posts: 85
Do I ditch the MH?

I've had my tank running over a year with no problems. I thought I'd upgrade the standard hood with 4 CP lights built in for a new lighting fixture with 2 x 150w MH. major GHA problems ever since!!
I know every will reply with must be too many nutrients, over feeding, more PWC. My nitrates have always been around the 10 mark, 0 tds with RO/DI used for pwc and I only feed every other day.
Everything was fine with the compacts. Is it all about balance??
When everything was matched as new i.e lights, filter type, tank size, I never had a problem.
Do you think my filtration isn't coping with the extra growth that the MH produce? It's just a wet/dry filter, no fudge or anything fancy.
I've been through 25kg of salt with PWC in 4 months trying to kill this. Do I give in and put the old hood back on ditching the MH?? I didn't have this problem when using the compacts.
__________________

__________________
cjbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
It's all about the amount of nutrients in the water and the amount of light needed for algae to grow and get out of control. You increased your lighting which is now enough for the algae to thrive. Do you run carbon to help remove the excessive nutrients and do you run GFO (granluar ferric oxide) to remove phosphates?
Obviously many, many people use MH's and don't have algae problems.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 09:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbaker
I've had my tank running over a year with no problems. I thought I'd upgrade the standard hood with 4 CP lights built in for a new lighting fixture with 2 x 150w MH. major GHA problems ever since!!
I know every will reply with must be too many nutrients, over feeding, more PWC. My nitrates have always been around the 10 mark, 0 tds with RO/DI used for pwc and I only feed every other day.
Everything was fine with the compacts. Is it all about balance??
When everything was matched as new i.e lights, filter type, tank size, I never had a problem.
Do you think my filtration isn't coping with the extra growth that the MH produce? It's just a wet/dry filter, no fudge or anything fancy.
I've been through 25kg of salt with PWC in 4 months trying to kill this. Do I give in and put the old hood back on ditching the MH?? I didn't have this problem when using the compacts.
Im sorry but the problem is not the lighting, only way it would be is if they are old bulbs or wrong color temp.

You still have nutrients so algae will and can grow. It only takes a small amount of nitrate and phosphate. Whats your phosphates at?
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 04:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
cjbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England
Posts: 85
Hi guys, thanks for you replies. Not I don't use GFO at the moment. For carbon I have a pillow and a carbon pad in the filter system which are about ready for renewal.
Phosphates are showing 0.25 @ the moment.
I think my next step is to replace the carbon and look for a phos reactor, do you agree?

Would cheap bulbs cause any problems? The unit came with 14000k bulbs, I don't see any flash naming on them. Are "bulbs" bulbs and it doesn't really matter?
As you can see from the pics I've lifted the lights 24" to try out a bit of light thinking that was the problem.

At least I now know I haven't wasted my cash on the lighting and i need to keep battling on. This had been so frustrating!!


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2219214159.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	152.9 KB
ID:	103910



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3938258436.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	256.3 KB
ID:	103911
__________________
cjbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 04:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Yep gfo would be a great idea. .25 is enough to cause problems.

Next step after the gfo is the hard part. Manual removal of all algae through scrubbing and siphoning
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.