Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2014, 09:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Do I need a calcium reactor?

Is it necessary to use a calcium reactor to maintain calcium levels? Or should I just plan on dosing with my Evs 2 part?

Pros and cons?
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Calcium reactors are ridiculous pieces of equipment. You really don't need one for healthy params.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Lol I only dose small amount of kent turbo-calcium, and it raise at 500ppm... If it's easy for you to dose it (daily?) manually until you reach 450ppm, then you really far from need a calcium reactor !

Just test for the daily or weekly calcium consumption rate, and dose according to this...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 08:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I decided to buy a dosing pump and will test and measure consumption. I want to lessen maintenance as much as I can because I get busy and forget.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
what brand did you for with the doser? been contemplating getting pone myself
__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Bulk reef supply. Watch the video on their site and you'll see why I chose that one.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 02:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Pumps came. Here's the setup. Waiting on the 2-part and the timers

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390588134.832870.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	218.6 KB
ID:	218616
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 03:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvincent View Post
Lol I only dose small amount of kent turbo-calcium, and it raise at 500ppm... If it's easy for you to dose it (daily?) manually until you reach 450ppm, then you really far from need a calcium reactor !

Just test for the daily or weekly calcium consumption rate, and dose according to this...
better watch dumping calcium in the tank without tending to the alk. You are going to end up doing more harm than good. If I was going to dose something, it would be alk, not calcium. Corals just grow a little slower with low calcium- corals die from alk fluctuations.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 03:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
better watch dumping calcium in the tank without tending to the alk. You are going to end up doing more harm than good. If I was going to dose something, it would be alk, not calcium. Corals just grow a little slower with low calcium- corals die from alk fluctuations.
According to RedSea tests, my alk doesn't move too much... Even if I dose calcium...
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Maybe time for new test kits.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphate reactor Jacobsal91 Nano Reefs 0 10-27-2013 12:46 AM
Tested review co2 reactor / diffusser Patrice Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 02-08-2012 11:54 PM
Calcium reactor questions. Sqasnatch General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 12-24-2011 08:13 PM
For Sale: MRC CR1 Calcium Reactor Philadelphia $100 spideybry Archive 0 12-04-2011 07:52 PM
Calcium reactor? Pros/cons? GreenMonster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-25-2011 11:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.