Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-02-2005, 10:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 113
Do I need a filter on my 55 sw tank? Please Help me!

Hi guys! Just wondering if I need a filter on my sw tank. We have 100 lbs of live rock in there and the filter is ugly! LOL We just bought orbit 4x65 watt lights and they fit on the tank just not with enough room to lift the top off and feed. Without the filter we could move the light back and have room to open the lid to feed my fat little piggies! Any suggestions will help me out!! Thanks everyone!! Sue
__________________

__________________
Thanks all for your help! And for putting up with me!!
b3noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
i would'nt advise getting rid or your filter, what kind of filter is it?
do you have protein skimmer? if not i suggest you get one
__________________

__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 113
Yes I have a filter,it is an emporer 400 and yes I do also have a protein skimmer. That is a bac pack one. Thanks again! Sue
__________________
Thanks all for your help! And for putting up with me!!
b3noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
any powerheads? if so what kind and the GPH
__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 113
Yes I do we have 3 of them. 2 regent 400 gph and one power head that says 802. The regents may be more I am not too sure. Thanks! Sue
__________________
Thanks all for your help! And for putting up with me!!
b3noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
With enough powerheads, the filter isn't needed. I have a 55 with four powerheads, a skimmer and no other filtration. I believe the standard is to be sure your ph's are turning the water over 10 X's the gallons. So, you need to be sure they are pumping 550 gph. The skimmer isn't included in this. HTH
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
yeah what fluff said.
__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
With 100lbs of LR your filtering needs shouldbe met (along with the skimmer). You can choose to use the emperor 400 as a place to run chemical filtration like carbon or mechanical filtration like pads. It is not needed however.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too much filter for my tank? jd8521 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 10-28-2009 09:57 AM
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
Anyone keep a tank with no filter? anythingscales Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-20-2005 09:38 PM
qt tank filter iceywater101 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 12-04-2005 07:35 PM
Filter media from one tank to help cycle another tank? William Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-18-2003 06:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.