Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2004, 03:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to mr_tee0419
Do I need an air pump?

Hello everyone! I was just wanting your opinion on something. I am setting up a 120 gallon fish only tank and will have 2 cascade 1500 canister filters running along with an Aqua C Remora Pro with a Mag Drive 3. Do you think these filters will generate adequate dissolved oxygen, or do I need to have an air pump of some kind?
__________________

__________________
mr_tee0419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 07:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
no air pump. get some ph and agitate the surface with them
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 09:37 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I agree. The air pump will just cause lots of salt creep which you don't want. I would have a powerhead at each end blowing just under the surface. Surface agitation is where all the gas exchange takes place. The rising bubbles from an air stone really contribute nothing until they break the sirface.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 10:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to mr_tee0419
would the return from the canister filters be enough agitation, or do I need more?
__________________
mr_tee0419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 01:17 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
If it is causing some surface agitation, I would think it would be sufficient.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air pump, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will trade platies for air pump and air stone fishfreak5 Archive 9 03-27-2009 08:35 PM
Air pump , do i really need it ? Chipie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 12-18-2006 12:27 PM
Air getting into pump, don't know how FearTheDentist General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-19-2006 05:42 PM
Air Pump: Yes or No?? Swank Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-12-2004 05:10 PM
Air Pump Necessary? craig10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-26-2002 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.