Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2011, 11:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Do these corals need trace elements and chemicals?

Do mushrooms, softies, and Lps require trace elements and magnesium and calcium?
Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
If you use reef salt and do regular water changes there is no good reason you need to use any trace elements.
__________________

__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Nope, nithing needs to be added if you are doing your water changes as the salt mix will provide all the trace elements you will need.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
If you have a substantial presence of stony corals in your tank (which LPS corals are) you may have to replenish what these corals uptake if their utilization of certain elements outpaces your water changing schedule.

In most cases this will be calcium and possibly magnesium, as well as carbonates. A test kit will let you know where your levels stand and indicate if supplementation is required prior to your next water change (which will replenish all trace and essential elements).

It's generally suggested not to supplement anything you haven't tested levels for.
__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Thanks to all of you, I'll be using instant ocean. If that doesn't provide all I need I'm pretty sure kent marine makes an "all in one" supplement.
__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
If you use an "all in one" you may be dosing in stuff you don't need. For instance, if you calcium is fine but you add an "all in one" you will be adding calcium. This will cause the calcium to rise to very high levels over time. In my opinion, dosing for ONLY the things your test indicate you need is a better way to do it. You can use the store bought suppliments or in many cases use your own. I needed to dose magnesium the other day. I found a recipe that uses epson salt (which I already have) and therefore didn't need to fork out any cash.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99
If you use an "all in one" you may be dosing in stuff you don't need. For instance, if you calcium is fine but you add an "all in one" you will be adding calcium. This will cause the calcium to rise to very high levels over time. In my opinion, dosing for ONLY the things your test indicate you need is a better way to do it. You can use the store bought suppliments or in many cases use your own. I needed to dose magnesium the other day. I found a recipe that uses epson salt (which I already have) and therefore didn't need to fork out any cash.
Oh okay that makes sense! Thanks. But what supplements do Lps and mushrooms need if I were to dose?
__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
there is no such thing as an all-in-one supplement. you will cause more harm than good.
mushrooms don't need anything that's not readily available in the water column.
LPS build a skeleton out of calcium which they take from the water column as well, and can get all they need if regular water changes are performed with a reef grade salt mix.
if you have a lot of lps and calcium levels are depleted, you'll have to add it correctly. you can't just pour calcium in the tank because it will effect your alkalinity as well. you will need to purchase a 2 (3) part additive to do so.

i would strongly suggest (as above) to not add anything to your tank you haven't tested for and are sure you need.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
there is no such thing as an all-in-one supplement. you will cause more harm than good.
mushrooms don't need anything that's not readily available in the water column.
LPS build a skeleton out of calcium which they take from the water column as well, and can get all they need if regular water changes are performed with a reef grade salt mix.
if you have a lot of lps and calcium levels are depleted, you'll have to add it correctly. you can't just pour calcium in the tank because it will effect your alkalinity as well. you will need to purchase a 2 (3) part additive to do so.

i would strongly suggest (as above) to not add anything to your tank you haven't tested for and are sure you need.
Alright thanks.
__________________

__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chemi, chemical, chemicals, coral, corals

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.