Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-13-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
Do you freshwater dip? or Hyposalinity new fish??

Do any of you guys/girls do either one of the treatments before you place new fish into your DTs?? Im thinking of starting a hyposalinity tank so i can place new fish in there for 2-3 weeks before i put them in my DT.

Whats a good size tank to use?? would i a 10g be too small??
__________________

__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Just put the fish in a quarantine tank for 2-3 weeks without any treatments. If you see a problem arise then take the appropriate action.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt View Post
Just put the fish in a quarantine tank for 2-3 weeks without any treatments. If you see a problem arise then take the appropriate action.
This is where i differ from conventional QTing..
I put my new fish into hypo from day one..Why wait for something to show up when chances are its there anyway .
__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTMMWS
This is where i differ from conventional QTing..
I put my new fish into hypo from day one..Why wait for something to show up when chances are its there anyway .
After having ick and still dealing with it . This is the exact same thing I am doing for any fish I add to my tank.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
Hey hondatek, Ive read quite a few thread which you provide some usefull info. What size tank will you/did you set up for this?? also how long would you be hypo them for??
__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I'm using a 45 that I cycled for an angler fish as a qt right now but I really like the 33 long tank size as a qt. It's 4ft long a foot wide and a foot tall which makes it big enough for the fish that like to swim and still small gallon wise to be easily maintained. I am qt my new fish in hypo for 6 weeks before he gets put in to my main tank. But if he does break out in ick I will leave him for 6 weeks after the last spot disappears . Hope that helps.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
would a fish survive a 3 month stint in a hypo tank??
__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
It should . My fish have been in hypo since February . But 6 weeks is all you need on a new fish .
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
acolotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 388
Why not just have them in copper? Instead of doing the 6 weeks?
__________________
acolotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
You can do that too but hypo is much safer and some fish like puffers you can not use copper at all.
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish, freshwater, new fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.