Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2004, 09:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to Mach
Do you need to rinse Southdown sand?

Hey just picked up 200lbs of Southdown sand. I was wondering if you should rinse the sand before I throw it into the tank. I currently have 40lbs of live sand in the tank now. I plan on adding 200lbs of the southdown and then another 50lbs of live sand on top of everything. This should give me a decent sand bed.

If I need to rinse the southdown, what is the best way to do it?

Thanks,
Anthony
__________________

__________________
Mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 09:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Black River Falls, WI
Posts: 151
Send a message via Yahoo to Wally
Mach please do not rinse your southdown, you want the small particals to remain.
__________________

__________________
Wally

The more I learn the less I know
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 10:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
definetly
__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 10:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 43
Mach, please tell me where in NY did you get the sand. I have been looking all over the place! Every Home Depot tells me check back in the spring!

Thanks,

Paul
__________________
pwilk20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 11:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to Mach
Pwilk20 - Home Depot in Port Chester. All the way in back of Gardening section. As soon as you walk into the store. Walk directly to the back right end corner of the gardening section outside. By the way, the packaging no longer says "Southdown" on the top. Everything else is exactly the same as past packaging. Blue and red, writing on side of bag. All the same without "Southdown". Maybe the company is catching on that this is not only being used for play sand. Who knows?

Anthony
__________________
Mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 09:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 43
Thank you Mach

Paul.
__________________

__________________
pwilk20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Rinse Woody5465 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 08-26-2009 07:24 PM
Didn't rinse my Southdown well enough. omcnair Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 09-29-2003 09:21 PM
How do you rinse sand? shawmutt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-14-2003 12:33 PM
need live sand in Dallas Fort Worth, TX or Southdown Sand LionStorm Archive 3 07-30-2003 12:42 PM
To rinse Sand or not to rinse ReefRaff Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-15-2003 11:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.