Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2009, 04:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
themangia1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Does anyone keep a quarantine tank running all the time?

I was wondering if anyone has a qt up and running all of the time. I have read the "ounce of prevention" article but I feel just throwing a qt in our spare bedroom would be much easier. I am looking to setup a 30 gallon qt (i think this will be big enough?). Do I need to have a fish in the tank to keep the tank cycled and to establish the beneficial bacteria or can I just add some LR into the tank? I am looking to setup a 30 gallon qt (i think this will be big enough?) with a HOB filter, airstone or ph whatever is better. Any help on getting this up and running would be greatly appreciated. I dont want to tak the chance of adding any more fish without proper qt.

Thanks for the help as always!!!
__________________

__________________
300 Gallon

View My Tank
themangia1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 08:44 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by themangia1984 View Post
Do I need to have a fish in the tank to keep the tank cycled and to establish the beneficial bacteria or can I just add some LR into the tank?
You really dont need either. Just every once in a while throw in a few flakes and they will decompose and feed your nitrifying bacteria.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 09:52 AM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Out of curiosity, why do you want it setup all the time? I have a small filter running in my sump. When I need the QT. I PWC water into the qt, move the filter from the sump to the qt and off I go.

Nothing wrong with keeping it up all the time I just wanted to make sure you knew that to have one you don't need to keep it up all the time.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
themangia1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Well to answer your question. I have a big tank and I want to add some new fish often so to pwc from my 300 gallon and then carry the buckets of pwc upstairs to the spare room (my main display is in the living room) would be a hassle. Also, if there are emergency's I'd have to go through the whole pwc again and I just feel it might more of a pain in the @$$ given my circumstance vs keeping one running all the time. Really wouldnt be much energy consumption and I would not have as much upkeep as a main display.
__________________
300 Gallon

View My Tank
themangia1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 01:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree with Captain, you can also keep a sponge/foam in a filter on your main and when you need to QT, move that over to it and you should be good to go.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 12:50 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
When I was stocking my main tank, the QT was up and running constantly. Think I had a QT running for around a year. But once my tank was stocked, I tore it down. I've put it back up again once, but since it's only a 10g, it's really no problem. So no... I don't run it constantly.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 12:16 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
If you plan on adding new livestock every month, then yes keep the QT running all the time. Once you have fully stocked your tank there is no need to keep it running. In fact tearing it down at that point can help prevent you from making an impulse purchase at the lfs.

I keep a filter in my sump that I can tranfer over should I decide on buing something new or need a hospital tank. I can be up and running in 24 hours or less.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:02 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
It really does not matter in the end considering you should be bleaching the qt after every qt period has ended (fish removed to display). Any sponge filter or comparable filtration should be washed (soaked or gentle cycle washing machine, no detergent) and let air dry to prevent contamination. If you go the sponge filter route (hob is just motor driven, but still contains a sponge) make sure you have several sponges that can be swapped and leave completely dried before reseeding in your sump. I prefer to recycle with a chunk of live rock now because I'm not willing to take a chance reintroducing anything back into the main display: cleaning agent, medication, disease/parasite.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 03:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
themangia1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 84
Thanks for the help!!!
__________________

__________________
300 Gallon

View My Tank
themangia1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine time. errdivideby0 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 05-14-2009 10:06 AM
Long time SW tank, 1st time reef tank MartinAugarten Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-25-2006 10:27 PM
The tank is up and running AH-99p Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-30-2006 04:33 PM
Hooray! 70 gallon up and running - cycle time! apotocki Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 02-22-2005 06:23 PM
Delimma Time! ;) Running a fish dept! danielcp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 03-01-2004 04:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.