Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-02-2004, 05:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Dosed For Calcium (got Q's)

Ok, I used the Kent Tech CB part A and B. I dosed the tank yesterday, and here are todays results.

Calcium 440
The Salinity Is right where I want it to be also.

I am using the Nutrafin Calcium Test. I was wondering is there a better test, that is more accurate, and is there a test that you dont continually have to add one drop at a time?

Prob, dumb Q's, but I am new at the Calcium thing!

here is a link to the test I have:
http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewIt...roduct=HG17850

Old 11-02-2004, 06:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I use seachem's reef success calcium test kit. Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.

Old 11-02-2004, 06:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.
I knew it was coming, but I prayed that it wouldnt!!

Thanks for the info!

My coral population is growing, and I was wondering about all that I should be testing for. Is this it?

Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
PH
Calcium
Alkalinity
Salinity
Water Hardness??

What else should I test for?

Also could you all, in your opinion, give a list of the best test for all these that can be purchased. I want to make sure I am using the best test.

TIA!!
Old 11-02-2004, 07:32 PM   #4
steve-s

Quote:
Originally Posted by malkore
I use seachem's reef success calcium test kit. Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.