Dosed For Calcium (got Q's)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

revhtree

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok, I used the Kent Tech CB part A and B. I dosed the tank yesterday, and here are todays results.

Calcium 440
The Salinity Is right where I want it to be also.

I am using the Nutrafin Calcium Test. I was wondering is there a better test, that is more accurate, and is there a test that you dont continually have to add one drop at a time?

Prob, dumb Q's, but I am new at the Calcium thing! :wink:

here is a link to the test I have:
http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idproduct=HG17850

I use seachem's reef success calcium test kit. Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.

Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.
I knew it was coming, but I prayed that it wouldnt!! :(

Thanks for the info! :wink:

My coral population is growing, and I was wondering about all that I should be testing for. Is this it?

Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate
PH
Calcium
Alkalinity
Salinity
Water Hardness??

What else should I test for?

Also could you all, in your opinion, give a list of the best test for all these that can be purchased. I want to make sure I am using the best test. :wink:

TIA!! :D

malkore said:
I use seachem's reef success calcium test kit. Afaik all calcium test kits are a titration based test...so you will always have to 'count the drops' to determine Ca levels.
One of the reasons I prefer Salifert. It is still a titration method but is done so with a syringe marked off in ml.

Once the color change is achieved, the corresponding measure left in the syringe (liq ml) can be refrenced from the included sheet.

Quite easily actually.

Cheers
Steve

Rev,