Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2004, 03:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 46
Double Sump

This should be a simple one for several of you. How do you set up two fuge's for your tank? I'm going to run a hang-on to take water out of the tank and send it to the fuge. I've run this before and understand that in a single fuge setup, the pump in the fuge will determine how much water flows out through my hang-on .... but what about a 2 fuge setup. Naturally, I'll need a pump to send water from fuge 1 to fuge 2 and then a pump in fuge 2 to send it back to the aquarium. What happens if the fuge 2 pump runs stronger than the fuge 1 pump (and it starts sucking wind) or vice versa ... how do you avoid this problem? Please don't say the only answer is a second hang-on in fuge 1 or to just buy one big fuge ... I'm running out of money.
__________________

__________________
IMPERATORFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 04:27 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I would not rely on pumps to connect the two. You will want one higher than the other and use another hang-on overflow to siphon water from the 1st to the 2nd, then pump the water back to the tank.

Alternately you could drill the sides of the two tanks and connect them via bulkheads and pvc.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 06:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
i have my set up were water drops from the first floor into my fuge in the basement which is a 55 gallon tank and then into the sump !! i had another 55 gallon that i wanted to add to the system in the basement so i just dropped another pump in the sump to pump into the new 55 gallon but another overflow was needed !! i was gonna use an iron stand with both 55's stacked and have it flow from one into the other and then into the sump but not much room to work with on the tank on the bottom so just set it up that way !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 02:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 46
Quote:
water drops from the first floor into my fuge in the basement
I wish I had that option (LOL). It's not all that ofter (ever) that you see a basement in south Louisiana. It wouldn't take long for it to turn into an under-house freshwater aquarium.

Quote:
use another hang-on overflow
Quote:
but another overflow was needed
I was afraid of that. Kevin, I would try the pvc option, but I think it would just be a matter of time before something would shift and leak. I quess I'm going to construct a hang-on overflow myself. Anyone know the best bay to cut and bind plexi? I hear that the biggest problem with cutting is finding the right kind of blade to keep the acrylic from heating up.
__________________
IMPERATORFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 03:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
imo the easiest over flow and cheapest would be two large specimen containers and glue them together
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 04:24 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...highlight=weld

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...highlight=weld
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 01:38 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 215
I have a double sump setup fed by two overflows. Two 25gal tanks connected by what I call an equalizer. It's basically what reefrunner suggested. Two bulkhead fittings with pvc connecting the two tanks. I have a pump in the first one just returning the water back to the tank. The water level in the first with the pump is always about 3 to 4 inches below the other one which ensures a constant flow from the second to the first. The only thing I have to be careful about is making sure I restrict the water volume feeding the sump without the pump so it doesn't fill up.
__________________

__________________
For since the creation of the world God's invisible qualities...have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. (Romans 1:20)
johnkristie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just double checking Japola44 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-21-2006 07:12 PM
"double" sump idea mastershake Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-25-2005 11:55 AM
*double take* DaPony87 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 02-20-2004 01:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.