Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-13-2006, 03:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Dumb Q??

Hi, I have a 120gal tank and would like to setup a sump system. I was wondering if I can drill the hole in the aquarium myself and if so, how can I do it safely. I already have a 90gal reef tank but it was setup for a sump when I purchased it. thx
__________________

__________________
Grouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Wow, I wouldn't try it. Perhaps a glass company could help you with that. You would also have to install some kind of overflow in the corners too, not an easy project.
Have you considered a HOB overflow to deliver the water to the sump?
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 03:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
No, I don't know much about HOB overflows do they work well?
__________________
Grouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 08:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Sure, ..google hang on back filters. Much info out there. Your LFS should have a variety too.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 233
Send a message via MSN to SoylentGrundy
Agree with Quarryshark on not drilling yourself. If you do indeed decide to do this, be very VERY careful or you'll crack the glass bigger than you know what. If it must be drilled, I'd advise about getting someone from a glass shop to do it for you or perhaps an auto body shop that fixes cracked windshields.
__________________
Don't dream it, be it.
SoylentGrundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 11:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
Hold on. Which tank is going to be the sump and which tank is goign ot be the main aquarium???

When I read you post I understood that you have a 90gallon main tank that is RR and you want to use the 120g as the sump. If this is true then there is no reason to drill anything at all. If the 90g is RR then it is already drilled or has an overflow box. The 120g as a sump would nto need to be drilled. Jsut put a pump in it to return water to the main tank.

If you are doing this some other way please explain.

I don't like overflow boxes cause they don't always work where there are power outages.
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 10:07 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
Can you answer my question?
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:38 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I think the 120 is to be a separate system. You can drill a tank on your own but an experience glass cutter would be better. There is a guy in my area that will come to your house to drill holes.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I did something really dumb DanW0007 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-19-2005 10:32 AM
maybe I'm just dumb... fishboy19 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 09-13-2004 12:15 AM
dumb ??? scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-09-2003 08:00 AM
I might be dumb but... NightSpirit Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-31-2003 11:24 PM
Dumb Betta question or dumb betta? dralarms Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-15-2003 08:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.