Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2013, 06:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
I Have a 110 tall tank i want to replace with a 180 in the same location. I obviously needed to setup a holding tank for the life while i drain and move the 110. How can i quickly cycle the new tank so i can put all the life back in? Will using must of the water and rocks from the old tank help speed it up?
__________________

__________________
Sagacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Kopitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
Bump
thats a good question anyone please ?
__________________

__________________
Kopitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Yes and yes. I never upgrade 70 gal but from 36 to 46 an 20 to 36.i used same everything just added extra water and everything was fine.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
Couldn't you just move your filter to the new tank?
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
To clarify the question a little i guess.... If i use water from an established tank to fill a new tank, does it still need to cycle before adding life? My fish and coral will not survive long in a smaller side tank while the new one cycles so i need to get it running quickly
__________________
Sagacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Psychocircus91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 721
The bacteria doesn't really live in the water. More so in the rock and sand.
Use all the same rock, sand, and water. You would ideally also want the same established filtration. All of these things can help make the cycle virtually non-existant. I would do a quick dosing of ammonia before adding anything and run some tests to be safe though.
__________________
75 Gallon Reef
Psychocircus91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Adding the live rock and your old filter(s) contains the bacteria, along with the water should make it "cycled". Gotta be careful though disturbing the sandbed as that can release many nutrients and chemicals. If possible add new sand and a little old sand at first. I would use the old sand after washing it and add it slowly over time. Just me though.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Do not stir up ur sand bed with fish/coral in there.
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithhjs View Post
Adding the live rock and your old filter(s) contains the bacteria, along with the water should make it "cycled". Gotta be careful though disturbing the sandbed as that can release many nutrients and chemicals. If possible add new sand and a little old sand at first. I would use the old sand after washing it and add it slowly over time. Just me though.
+1

Didn't see this
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
willbratz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 769
Don't know if this helps but I broke down a120 and set it up at my house when it was given to me. Used the same sand and rocks but only 50% of the water. Same sump, rocks everything. I did leave the fish out for 1.5 days for the sand to settle other than that no issues.
__________________

__________________
willbratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.