Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2014, 04:30 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by epaz View Post
Mebbid how do you use 3 strips? Do you plug a 3rd into another? No issues?
Strip 1 - ATO, Heater, Strip 2, and Strip 3
Strip 2 - Refugium water pump, 2x powerheads, 2x refugium lights
Strip 3 - Display lights on timers
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 06:04 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
Thanks for the info gents
__________________

__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:22 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Mount 2 of these in your cabinet, much better control

Amazon.com: American Dj Pc-100A Rack Mount Power Switcher: Musical Instruments
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Here's what I have under my 125. http://m.harborfreight.com/12-outlet...rip-96737.html
__________________
Vdub99aml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:15 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdub99aml View Post
I like that. I may have to get one!
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:30 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
That's what I'm talking about vdub
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:25 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I have like 5 strips right now and I have a 4 outlet GFI that plugs into the wall outlet. Everything is mounted up and away from the sump.

You also need to test your sump level to simulate a power outage.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 06:56 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdub99aml View Post
Here's what I have under my 125. 12 Outlet Super Power Strip
Just my personal opinion, I would not use anything electrical from Harbor freight, many of their Chinese products do not meet UL electriaal codes, thats a big risk to save $5.
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 08:45 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
I have 2 points I had a little problem the other day my skimmer cup wasn't on tight enough and water ran out of the skimmer straight into a power point we had an rcd installed 2 years ago after I got electrocuted from a light socket but it still didn't go off this was the outcome Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392122731.314942.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	239.6 KB
ID:	222033
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 09:10 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darylb View Post
I have 2 points I had a little problem the other day my skimmer cup wasn't on tight enough and water ran out of the skimmer straight into a power point we had an rcd installed 2 years ago after I got electrocuted from a light socket but it still didn't go off this was the outcome Attachment 222033
is an rcd like gfi? Ground fault interrupter, I installed them on all my outlets that feed my reef. They may not work on every type of short but it is still an added layer of protection. I also have 3 inexpensive water detectors behind my stand and in my cabinet, they beep like a fire alarm if just the smallest amount of water is detected, have caught issues many times before they became problems. Also lets not forget to check your GFI's on occasion.
__________________

__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about electrical plugs. William Aquaria Off-Topic 9 08-16-2004 01:52 PM
Electrical Planning OneBowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 07-01-2004 09:53 AM
Electrical Safety? Is it really so important? uncwalley Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-14-2004 03:46 PM
An Electrical Question Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 01-28-2004 12:54 AM
Another electrical question c-bass Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 08-27-2003 09:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.