Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-21-2011, 06:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Feeding Corals

I am still getting into having coral, so I have a question about feeding coral. I currently have an open brain coral, a Frogspawn and a small frag of zoos. (I am trying to unbleach the zoos right now due to bad lighting when I first got my aquarium)

So, my question is this, Do I have to do anything special to feed these guys, or will the food that I feed my fish sustain them. I am currently feeding my fish frozen cubed food that includes mysis, brine and krill. I have some Marine One ffod, but I don't like it because of the gel that holds it together. For me it's a pain during feeding time because it clumps up and sits at the bottom of my tank.

If I di feed them, do I just need to use a dropper or baster?

on a differnet subject, if I want to add some new live sand, how would I do that without stirring up the bacteria at the bottom of the tank?

Thanks for all of the help.

Trent

Old 01-21-2011, 06:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you don't have to do anything special. they get all they need from the lighting.
if you want to feed the brain, when the lights go off and it's tentacles come out just reach in and drop a few pieces of food on the tentacles.
if you start enjoying feeding it, and want to do it more efficiently, i find a feeding syringe works much better than a turkey baster.
something like this:

you can google "syringe" and find all sorts of online vendors.

buy dry aragonite sand and just pour it on top (after rinsing thoroughly). it will become live on it's own and not cause any spike.

Old 01-21-2011, 07:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice