Feeding Torch Coral?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

L2

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey does anyone know often I should be feeding my Torch Coral? He's medium in size and I have some small mushrooms. I'm just getting started really with introducing coral into my now very stable tank. I try to shoot him with 1 ml of phitoplancton every day. I have a 12 gallon tank... nano cube. Is that enough? Or should I be doing it every other day ?

Also... I try and do the same thing with the iodine and suppliments... every other day i shoot in 1ml... a tiny amount. is that the right thing to do? i don't have a lot of coral yet but i assume these ones still need their nutrients/suppliments. Thoughts?

Thanks guys! And gals! :D :)

NEVER add iodine and other suppliments with out testing your water first.. Adding to a 12 gal w/out testing could hurt the tank fast..
I have never added iodine to my reef and all is fine. Doing regular water changes should keep levels up where they need to be.
Phytoplankton once a week would be fine and don't over dose that stuff either, too much could cause algae issues..

Providing phtoplankton/food may be one thing, but I'm concerned about the iodine and supplements though. Iodine can be very dangerous so I've heard if overdosed. Plus, there no reliable test to see where the levels actually are. Most try to rely on PWCs for supplement updates. I'd think 2 times weekly for phytoplankton since there isn't a lot of coral yet. I think the bottle recommendation says every other day and is based on the water volume.

Look up Euphyllia glabrescens and read up on it.

The torch is gonna like medium and consistent flow to do well. And I believe it can harm neighboring corals if placed too close also.

Lemme know how it turns out in a few days.