Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2010, 03:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
Filter as macro home?

I am going through a tiny battle with cyano right now. Not bad, nippin it in the bud before it gets bad. I was wondering, could I use my emperor 400 as a housing to hold some chaeto or would that be bad. I would clip a light on it to feed light. I don't have a sump nor the money to set a proper one up right now.
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:24 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I have heard of other folks doing that also.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:41 PM   #3
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
That's exactly what i'm doing right now. I don't have anything like a sump or fuge so i'm modding my AC70 to hold sand, LR rubble, and macro. I know that people also do this with their AC110's since they're alot bigger and can hold more things inside like a 6 inch heater, retardedly small pump for flow, etc.. I think it's a great idea for people on a budget, or that just don't have the space for another tank.

However, the only problem i foresee is the macro eventually jamming the impeller in the pump... But maybe by then you could just get another Filter to replace the one that broke. Not sure, but i'm still doing this anyways.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
Could I use something like fine plastic screen mesh to keep it from growing to the impellor. I would think a clip on cf light would suffice for light.This is only temporary, it's a 75g tank, and in a few months it will be the sump for the 150g I have downstairs. I wish now I had got some right ater the tank cycled to starve the cyano out before it poped up. Oh well could be worse I guess. Thanks for the replies.
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 11:46 PM   #5
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yeah that sounds like a good idea. That way you can just take the screen mesh out and clean it if it gets gunked up. Thanks for that kdogg..
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 09:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
lbannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 465
Wow! This sounds like a good idea, I have a marineland 350 magnum canister....Do you think this idea would work for me?
__________________
lbannie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 12:35 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I use the screen idea in my sump. I have my macro in the return area so the pump wants to suck it in. I made a small cage from eggcrate and covered that with screening. Works pretty well.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 01:40 PM   #8
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Great idea cmor.. that sounds like a fantastic solution.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 04:22 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
So plastic mesh with the macro lightly packed and a light up top should give a good result. I don't have to worry about water flow through the filter. I'm assuming a weekly trimming to get rid of excess growth would be in order as well.
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, macro

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macro clowninround Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-13-2005 09:19 AM
Home Sweet Home! DIY Cave... Aquarian DIY Projects 26 03-30-2005 05:46 PM
macro id please got bait? Saltwater & Reef - Identification 3 12-22-2004 03:09 AM
Macro... theatrus Saltwater & Reef - Identification 7 12-17-2004 05:24 PM
Looking for Macro kidafius Archive 5 08-18-2003 11:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.