Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2004, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 44
Filter OK not running?

I have purchased a used/established 75 gallon reef.

I am currently shopping for a new stand and canopy and have found that it will need to be ordered and my take up to 3 weeks (Oceanic Light Oak Stand & Canopy)

With this in mind will it be OK to leave the filter and live rock in a tank that doesn't have a "running filter" but does have light, powerhead (placed the sump pump in the tank) and heater? It will need to be that way for about 2 weeks???

Also if there is anyplace on the web that I can purhase the stand etc. that would be great info as well!

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Life is short, love much, laugh often!
sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Why not run the filter?
__________________

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Oh I think I understand what you mean.

Are you talking about the filter media?

How many pds of LR is there?

Should be ok, if I understand what you mean.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 44
I have the filter media in there and will need to set up another tank in order to run the filter.
I am trying to keep from setting up the 75 gallon until the new stand is here... Does that make more sense?
There is about 20-25 lbs of live rock with snails and a couple of crabs in there...no fish....
Perhaps I go get a 10 gallon and go ahead and set it up like that. Just wondered if that was necessary?!
__________________
Life is short, love much, laugh often!
sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running two canister filter? kaz Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 6 03-25-2006 07:55 PM
Running a HOB filter on a UPS oxymoron General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 05-03-2005 10:09 PM
running a cannister filter with a wet/dry system guitarded Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 09-08-2004 06:22 PM
Should I be running a Diatom XL Filter while cycling? RubixCube Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 12-01-2003 11:47 PM
New flourite is murky; Do I keep running the filter? Help! betowess Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-30-2003 12:16 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.