Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-20-2005, 10:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

filtration

I need help in chosing a filter.Im new at this and hear that i should go with a protein skimmer.Can anyone give me some models or some websites to look at.This would be for a 55 gallon tank.I am now just getting equimpent only at this time.

Old 11-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Do you plan on having a sump or are you looking for a skimmer that will hang on the tank? I am going to guess, being new, you are looking for a hanging model.

My recs would be: AquaC Remora line, CPR Bakpak II line, or the Prizm Pro.

HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 11:22 PM   #3

I have the AquaC Remora with the preskimmer box. It works like a charm. I haven't had any trouble with it at all. You might also want to consider adding a biowheel. My Emperor 400 keeps my water crystal clear. i HTH. 8O
RHSTOYMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 11:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
I personally would skip any mechanical filtration except for a good protein skimmer. Like previously mentioned, the remora or bakpak is a good choice.
3' fine sand bed 1x Orange Stripe Prawn shrimp goby, 1x sixline wrassemated pair of true percula clowns, 1x CBS shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, 1x pistol shrimp, 1x tiger tale cuke, ~20+ snails, ~10+ hermits, 1xserpent star.
green Bubble coral, hammer coral (8 heads!) ,various Zoos,green finger leather, green star polpys ,shrooms
175w 10k MH
28w actinic 03
2x maxi jett 1200
Prizm skimmer (modded)
Hagen powerfilter(for running carbon 24/7)
nano arctica chiller
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:56 AM   #5