Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-30-2013, 08:50 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
No idea, I have never heard of such a thing. I can't understand how it just tests the water quality in general? I test for a whole bunch of things and thy all have different readings. If there is a magic product out there that tests for it all I want to know what it is!
Haha to be honest I never even really used it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3428282700.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	178.8 KB
ID:	177037  
__________________

__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:52 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
Ah it's a TDS meter, ideally you want 0 TDS. Are you using ro-di water?
__________________

__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:53 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aadair22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ocala, Fl.
Posts: 507
That is a Tds meter.. The only thing people in the hobby use that for is to make sure their rodi water is pure.. This won't help you out at all with testing your tank water, good thing to have though if you have your own rodi unit. Invest in a Red Sea test kit
__________________
I'm gonna go do a water change
aadair22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:09 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadair22 View Post
That is a Tds meter.. The only thing people in the hobby use that for is to make sure their rodi water is pure.. This won't help you out at all with testing your tank water, good thing to have though if you have your own rodi unit. Invest in a Red Sea test kit
Yea I've had it for awhile and was just wondering and yea I just wanted to test the water going in to the tank. And what's the difference between the API master saltwater test kit and the Red Sea test kit?
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:48 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Reliability due to accuracy.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 01:44 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aadair22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ocala, Fl.
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Reliability due to accuracy.
Yup +1.
__________________
I'm gonna go do a water change
aadair22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 05:38 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsnow0410 View Post
Ok thanks. And then ill need the light when I put fish in right?
You can use any light for fish it's only after you add coral that you'll need that ultra bright light
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:22 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizz View Post

You can use any light for fish it's only after you add coral that you'll need that ultra bright light
Ohh ok sounds good thanks for the info
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:26 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Ok so I have 3 105watt cfls (big suckers and that's actual watts) but will just one of these do or what idk they put off about 3500 lumens and they are 6500k
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:00 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
One is all you'll need for fish the light will be yellow/green so the colors wont be as bright as you may like That spectrum may cause a lot of algae growth For the money the taotronic LEDs are hard to beat
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.