Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-24-2013, 11:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

First post / new tank

Ok so I am new to saltwater and reef tanks. I've been researching a lot and learned quite a bit but not even close to how much I can and need to...also I'm starting to become a lot more interested in just the marine culture in general. It's so colorful and bright it's awesome.

So anyway I'm gunna try to do a 20gal long nano reef for my first shot. I've heard mixed things like dont try small tanks and blah blah blah but I like to do things the hard way first so it's easier later after you mess up a few times and I don't want to spend money on a new aquarium.

So right now I have a marine land H.O.T magnum hang on canister filter, lees protein skimmer, marine land maxi-jet 400, viaAqua quartz heater, and a tetra whisper 20gal air pump, also have a API saltwater master kit. So I still need to get reef test kit, salt, lights, live rock, fish (in about two months).

Let me know what you think.

Old 05-24-2013, 11:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I would say the 20 long is a good size tank. I not a big fan of canister filters so if it was me I would ditch that. You equipment list looks good, do you have a ro-di system? If you are going reef I believe it's a must. The water is the most important ingredient for a reef tank sounds like you are on the right track, take your time and make sure to research any livestock before you buy. Welcome to the most addictive hobby!

Old 05-24-2013, 01:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict