Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-17-2005, 02:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

First SW Tank...Pics...Questions

I bought my first SW tank from the LFS on 8/8/05. Details: 120gal tank, 2 Cascade 1500 Canister filters, Aqua Chargers (1750 Pieces) Bio-Media, crushed coral substrate, and non-live rock. This is my first tank in 15 years and first SW tank EVER so I'm very new to the hobby.

I am cycling right now with damsels (I didn't find this site until AFTER I bought the fish at the LFS suggestion). They've been in the tank for about 8 days. I've been feeding once per day. I started off with 10 fish, I'm now down to 5 fish.

I took my first water test today and I have some questions about the results. There are pictures below and I could use some help reading the results. I hope the pictures turned out well enough to see. From what I could tell, my ammonia is at a 1.2, NO2 is at a 1.6, and NO3 is at a 110. Please double check these results for me and make sure they are correct.

Also, is my tank progressing along nicely?

I've been reading about a QT tank and I had some questions about that. I understand that the general consensious is that you should QT new fish. Does that mean that I would need to setup ANOTHER SW tank to do so, or would I take existing water from my main tank? How exactly would I go about doing this? I did a search but didn't find what I was looking for.

I've included some pictures of my tank setup. I plan on having a fish only tank. I would like to get a snowflake eel or zebra eel. My LFS aslo has a very cool looking fish called a remora that I would love to have in my tank as well. Does anyone have any experience with those?