Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2011, 05:27 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadster33
I remember back in the day of assisting the cycling of the tank with damsels.

But, I will wait and just get more live rock and live sand.

I just did a water test last night

Nitrite = 0ppm
Nitrate = 20ppm
PH 8.8
Salinity: 1.024
Ammonia = 0ppm
I would say your cycled

Sent from my HTC ANDROID INCREDIBLE using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:46 PM   #12
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Cycle your salt tank

This will tell you why we dont agree with using fish to cycle. It will also give you a heads up on the cycle.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:00 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
thank you

Thank you everybody -
I will go and place a shrimp in the tank.

Is this shelled or unshelled? Does it make a difference?
__________________
roadster33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:45 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
Just as long as it doesn't have cocktail sauce on it you should be fine. Use just a tiny part, not a whole shrimp unless you have a huge tank. A little shrimp will do.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:12 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
Also I recommend you put it inside a fish net or woman's stocking. That way when it comes time to get it out you have all the pieces in one place.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:40 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
You don't even have to use a shrimp if you don't want to. I just used fish food. The same effect will be achieved. All you need is some organic material that will be broken down
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 02:12 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 22
shrimp

Alright, I just added the shrimp on saturday and I did a water test today.

Nitrite: 3ppm
Nitrate: 15ppm
Ph: 8.2
Ammonia: 0ppm

What phase do you think i am in? cycled or not cycled?

I added 40lbs of live rock...my total of 130lbs of live rock
and total of 50lbs of live sand.

Aquaeuro 250 was just added but I dont have any crude yet.

BTW - I justg saw I had a new friend - 4in bristleworm. Keep him or remove him?

Am I ready for coral and fish or should I wait another week or 2?
__________________
roadster33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:49 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
You are not cycled but on your way. Getting close. Once you have 0 NitrIte and zero Ammonia (already there) then you would be done.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:38 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
I believe you meant zero nitrites , Smitty
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:53 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Remove and throw in sump or just flush. Bristleworms in and of themselves are not bad because they eat leftover food and detritus, but if they get goo large, they MAY attack fish and inverts. It will only get bigger. Get him out now while it's easier.
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish Cycle Stalled paleogirlfl Cichlid Discussion 1 09-13-2009 02:34 AM
Need help. Trying to cycle with fish. edisondave Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 04-07-2009 02:21 PM
Cycle not starting? More fish? kaosfere Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 07-03-2007 03:33 PM
How many cycle fish? tyrel Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 10-06-2005 06:36 PM
Do you cycle your tanks with or without fish? Pugwinkle Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 03-21-2004 10:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.