Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-06-2004, 04:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 23
float switch

(i'm asking this question for my boyfriend while he's at work so I don't know exactly what it's called..) he wants to put in a float switch...does anyone have suggestions on how to make and install one? thannks!
katrina
__________________

__________________
klg1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 04:33 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Can you go into more detail as to what you want the float switch to control?

An autotop off device?

Are you thinking about an electrical float switch or a gravity fed float?
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 04:58 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
LOL, this is a popular subject this week

www.autotopoff.com for an electrical float. I'm sure several of our sponsors carry the kent gravity fed float switch.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 05:02 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
How I did mine...starts on page three of this thread. Biggen got his first and his thread is here.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2004, 06:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
man save yourself a lot of money and get an ebay one. I use it for my own auto top off.. it was only 7 bucks!
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2004, 07:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 23
i sort of need step by step directions....easy=good. thanks.
__________________

__________________
klg1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found an awesome float switch helicopter DIY Projects 3 04-23-2007 09:29 PM
RO/DI Float Switch awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-25-2005 07:03 PM
Ultralife Float Switch Sam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2004 08:48 AM
Need: Easy mount for float switch BillyZ DIY Projects 3 04-08-2004 10:46 AM
Float Switch? d9hp DIY Projects 5 05-24-2003 10:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.