Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2006, 07:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 135
Flow Flow Flow

Can you guys give me some help/feedback on my current tank flow. The tank is a 72 gal w/ overflow and I cant seem to get the flow right with the obstruction of the overflow. Currently I have a 2 900 MJ on each side and a MJ1200 in the center on a rotating deflector. I should be pushing a total of 1200 GPH. I am fighting Cyano and need to keep flow in the dead corners? I am thinking about pushing the large formation on the right back almost to the glass (right now it is sitting forward of the overflow) leaving a large patch behind? or adding a another MJ?
Comments please?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0009.jpg (170.5 KB, 119 views)
__________________

__________________
davebailey46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 08:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Thats a lot of flow in a 72 IMO... If you have cyno have you tested for PO4? It needs food to live. You do need low flow areas in a tank where fish, inverts can get a spot to take a break if they want. In the wild there are low flow areas. JMO
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 10:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 135
Yeah seachem Po4 kit shows 0...
__________________
davebailey46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:58 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I have 2 MJ1200's and a Seio 620 in my tank. That combined with my main return I push about 1800 gph in my 75 gal. The swirl attachment you have on the back PH will reduce the flow from that one.

I have considered setting up a closed loop in my tank but a Seio 1500 might do the trick as well. I have SPS so flow is what I want.

Make sure you are testing your source water for PO4. I assume you are using RO/DI water? RO water won't always be enough. How old is your tank? The pic does not look too bad really.

HTH
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 135
I just did a tank transplant in Dec to this new sump/fuge setup...I am actually (hate to admit it) using tap water and aging it at min 4 days. From the tap however seachem test in reading Phos at .05 nitrates 10 (In tank 0, and 0) Don't worry I am already looking at an RODI system with tank...What is strange though with heavy skimming and macro in the fuge I am still having the cyano issue (where as I have studied several LFS setups including a very large well respected one) and not even one uses and form of RO or DI. Actually Baltimore City water is very good! I am guessing I should fight it as usual and let this new setup settle in....
__________________
davebailey46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:21 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Might just be a diatom bloom from the tank transplant. Some tap water might be good enough but most are not so lucky. Any PO4 from the source water can cause issues. I used tap water for years with no problems on a FO tank. Once I set up my reef tank, I had cyano bad. RO/DI fixed it.

HTH
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 11:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 135
Makes you wonder why a reef tank would have more cyano issues? I dont dose any suppliments...
Thanks for you help...
__________________

__________________
davebailey46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
How much flow is too much flow? mugginns Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-12-2007 08:18 PM
RO/DI flow Mosaic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-04-2007 07:14 PM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 03:31 PM
Flow in a QT? jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-04-2004 03:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.