Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2013, 06:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 80
Frag Setup

Going to be setting up a dedicated frag set up, going to use the hydroponic grow trays. I'm doing everything on a budget and have everything but the sump and overflow. The sump I should be able to figure out, but I'm lost for how I should do the overflow. I'm guessing the cheapest way would to be building my own overflow. Would drilling be the way to go or would something like this be better?
__________________

__________________
Crobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 11:17 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
They will both work.. drilling is a much better option though.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 12:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Frankie_Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 603
Go with a eshopps nano overflow box, $40 on amazon, well worth the money if you don't want a drilled tank option. I tried many times to this DIY overflow and it's just a hassle with getting everything to work right and making sure there this is no air in the PVC tubes. Save yourself the hassle. In the end you'll spend a little more but you will be satisfied.
__________________
Frankie_Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 06:10 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
LKemp712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bismarck,ND
Posts: 42
I have made two homemade overflows, they are easy and work great. I made one for my 55gallon into my 10 gallon refugium and it was slick. I probably only spent $10-12 making it. I would say it is worth your time.
__________________
LKemp712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 07:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jmkb02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 947
Just go with drilling it or getting the eshops. The other overflow doesn't self prime and during a power outage, you will more than likely have an overflow.
__________________
Jmkb02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 01:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 80
Thanks for all the advice going to drill the trays for sure. Hopefully will have a start by early this week
__________________
Crobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 01:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by LKemp712 View Post
I have made two homemade overflows, they are easy and work great. I made one for my 55gallon into my 10 gallon refugium and it was slick. I probably only spent $10-12 making it. I would say it is worth your time.
Do you ever worry about losing siphon?
__________________
Crobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 01:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
There is no siphon with drilled tanks. They work by gravity. No chance of failure.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 01:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
BTW, I use these for frag tanks and refugiums-
Rubbermaid® Structural Foam Stock Tanks, 50 gal. Capacity - Tractor Supply Co.

I just put a standpipe in it and the bulkhead in the bottom-





.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
That's how I set up frag tanks as well. Cheap and it works great.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1387652658.644623.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	194.4 KB
ID:	212990
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frag, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.