Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2007, 08:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
Freshwater/Saltwater test kit question...

Quick one today. Can I use a RedSea saltwater ph test kit to test freshwater ph? I'm trying to match ph for a freshwater dip and I don't have a freshwater ph test kit - but, I thought ph was ph, right? Saltwater kits just have a higher range?
__________________

__________________
- Skins

-------------------------------------------------
210 gallon aggressive tank in process.
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 01:49 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
The kit I have will not test fresh water. Usually if it is a high range PH test kit that is what it is designed to test. I say get a FW ph test kit. What PH are you looking for in your FW? 7 is usually where it belongs right?
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 02:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
If your matching the FW PH to seawater levels, I assume it would work fine. As long as the PH is high enough to register on a SW kit, it should work.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 02:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
My API (Aquarium Pharmaceuticals) pH kit is for both Fresh and Salt water. Just normally the high range is sold for SW, the low range is sold for FW. But the box actually says "Freshwater/Saltwater".
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 10:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
Thanks. Yeah, I'm just trying to get my freshwater to 8.2 to match my saltwater main tank so that I can do a freshwater dip. I don't necessarily need to read anything much lower than that. I just plan on adding drops of freshwater PH-up until it reads 8.2 on my saltwater test kit. So, I'm assuming that should be fine.
__________________
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 11:28 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I wouldn't do a fresh water dip which is fairly "old school" advice. It's very stressful and generally useless even with the ph matching IMO. Better to use a QT or not dip at all.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 02:47 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m also one of those that dont advocate FW dips. I `ve seen too many deaths and stress when they are done. IMO all they do is stress out an already stressed out fish.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 10:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
This was for a seahorse that wasn't eating. Folks at seahorse.org seemed to think it was the beginnings of a "weak snick" for which freshwater dips are usually the first step before a formalin bath and eventually tube feeding.

After setting up my hospital tank and aerating the water, my horse suddenly started eating like a champ again. Not sure why. Maybe he saw the hospital tank and knew what was coming to him

Either way, he has eaten great at the last 3 feedings and he's already gaining weight back, so I guess this fw dip is a moot point. But, I will say that I've noticed through all my seahorse research that dips seem pretty common in seahorse keeping for treating bacteria or parasites. Some people even dip their horses as common practice a few times a year if they feed live foods to the tank.

It's still good to know in case I need to do this down the road - thankfully, they are all happy and healthy again.
__________________
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 10:14 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Glad to hear that it's doing better.

Until a couple of years ago using wet/dry sumps and UGF was often used to cultivate bacteria until better knowledge/understanding. IMO it's the same with FW dips.

Not saying that treating sea horses in a FW dip is incorrect but IMO no SW animal should be subjected to FW dips since there are so many less stressful options.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 09:27 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 494
I hear you, tecwzrd. I've never fw dipped any fish because it just logically seems too stressful. I think the point behind it is that seahorses do not have a stomach and therefore have to eat preferably a couple times a day. They're basically a living funnel. Starvation happens relatively quickly. So, if a horse stops eating, we're talking a matter of a couple days to remedy the problem. So, low salinity QT and treatment may be too lengthy of a process. FW dips can kill bacteria extremely quickly and in some cases horses seem to snap back to eating the same day as the treatment. The need to get them to begin feeding again quickly, as apposed to a fish which may last a lot longer without food, I guess is why dipping is so prevalent in seahorse keeping. It's just that the alternatives (tube feeding) are even more stressful.

But, I've clearly taken this thread off topic (as I usually do).
__________________

__________________
SkinnyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, salt, saltwater, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Saltwater Test Kit in Freshwater Tank? chotie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-12-2006 11:01 PM
What do u think is the best freshwater test kit? spring007 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 01-24-2006 06:37 PM
Freshwater Master Test kit djeff General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-07-2005 01:32 PM
Using a Saltwater test kit Kohan Bros. Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-11-2005 03:11 PM
Can I use a Freshwater Master Test Kit for Saltwater Testing WhiteCloud Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-21-2004 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.