Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2005, 12:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
Fuge overflow caused BIG electrical short!

I awoke Easter morning only to find my tank power totally dead, a puddle, and a fried wall outlet with black fire indication over the outlet!! Very scary.

I'm not exactly sure how this happened, but I suspect this; I started a hang-on fuge 2-3 weeks earlier. The spaghetti algae has very good growth and maybe some of it, or something else, fell into the return chamber of the fuge. This is a gravity return so, if it gets clogged, it's not able to "return" and the fuge overflows.

Needless to say, I have another extension now from another part of the room to power the tank. I'm going to have to drain the tank sufficiently to move it out enough to fix the fried outlet. Quite the hassle!!

Has anybody ever had this happen? Any other strange overflows that I might read about?
__________________

__________________
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 04:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 67
one question, do you have a "2-prong" wall socket where you put an adapter for "3-prong" sockets that you then plug your tank stuff into?
__________________

__________________
Wooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long beach
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to xahx
MAybe u running it off of an old cable or old powere surge.
__________________
xahx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 07:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
your pretty lucky your house didn't burn down. Thank god, for he was whatching out for you and your family.

When u fix it. Make sure you install a GFI (Ground Fault Interup) Recepticle, insted of just a regular plug.

Tim.
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 08:59 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to markh30
I basically had the same thing happen to me last year. My overflow sprung a small leak underneath, where the feed hose connects. Needless to say, it dripped down the wall and into my electrical outlet. The way I found this out was I was in my kitchen and kept hearing popping sounds. I finally pinpointed it and totally freaked out. It was the outlet shorting out. Needless to say, I did install a GFI outlet, which really does work. A few months later, I walked by the aquarium and noticed everything was turned off. After investigating, I realized the same problem had reoccurred, except this time the outlet kicked off. That's when I also realized it's a good idea to use metal clamp where the feed hose connects to the overflow (yeah, it takes me a little while to figure these things out).
__________________
markh30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 10:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
Yup, definitely going with GFI.

As for the plug, Wooster, it's a standard, grounded (three prong) outlet. I plugged in a six-box (makes two outlets into six) and from that, I have two industrial grade, 15 amp power strips and a Coralife timer strip for the lights. Total of about 14 plugs into those three strips.

For those of you thinking "the fool has waaaaay to many plugs in a single outlet - no wonder!" The current draw on this circiut peaks out at about 12 amps with everything on. The circuit is a 20 amp circuit. Also, I have intermediate strips (as mentioned) with 15 amp internal breakers. So, I have redundant breakers and a long way to go before I overload the circiut.

There's streaks on the wall along side the fuge that indicate it dripped down the wall and fried the outlet. You hit it ReefRaff, the Almighty gave me a break.
__________________

__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuge - sump with no overflow? Speakerman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 09-21-2006 01:44 AM
What caused my algae outbreak? 808 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-17-2006 01:38 PM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM
Overflow to Fuge plumbing got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-11-2004 10:52 AM
Overflow vs big holes vs built in Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 11-08-2003 06:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.