Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-13-2003, 11:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Smonkey15 Send a message via MSN to Smonkey15
GAC

what do you guys use to put GAC in for a sump? i have heard panty hose. does that work?
__________________

__________________
-Steve-

Figuring out how to keep my fish healthy is like the pethagorean theorem; there is no solution.
Smonkey15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 02:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Yes, pany hose do work. I'd probably buy a new set to make sure they are nice and clean instead of a used/washed pair that may have detergent in them. I just buy little white filter type bags at my LFS for around $1 each, they have a draw string top and work great.
__________________

__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 03:22 AM   #3
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can also get Chemi-pure, with is a carbon/resin product that already comes in a nylon bag...

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 08:54 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
well I have to tell ya. I tried it and I spent soooo much time trying to rinse the black dust out and made such a huge mess, that I won't be going that route again.
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 12:53 PM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReefRaff
I tried it and I spent soooo much time trying to rinse the black dust out and made such a huge mess, that I won't be going that route again.
If you are talking about the chemi-pure, it is pre-rinsed and even though you may get some "bleeding" it does not need additional rinsing really. When I change it out, I quickly swish it in a pail of removed tank water and into the filter. It has never been an issue....

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 01:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReefRaff
well I have to tell ya. I tried it and I spent soooo much time trying to rinse the black dust out and made such a huge mess, that I won't be going that route again.
What kind of carbon are you using? Some really cheap carbon I bought at my LFS was horrible, it'd rinse it for 20 minutes and black would keep pouring off it. So now I buy the Aqua-Tech carbon at wal-mart. It's actually made by Marineland but just packaged for wal-mart and is only aournd $5 for a 900mL container. It's pre-rinsed, I just rinse it for 10 seconds or so to make sure excess debris from shipping is removed as well.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Quote:
If you are talking about the chemi-pure, it is pre-rinsed and even though you may get some "bleeding" it does not need additional rinsing really. When I change it out, I quickly swish it in a pail of removed tank water and into the filter. It has never been an issue....
Quote:
What kind of carbon are you using? Some really cheap carbon I bought at my LFS was horrible, it'd rinse it for 20 minutes and black would keep pouring off it.
It was a 3.65 L conatainer of Black Diamond GAC. and it is approx a 1/8 inch particle size. One person (can't remember who) was saying that there was a better product than GAC. was that you steve? was it Chem-Pure you or they were talking about?
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 08:17 PM   #8
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If asked I usually recommend chemi-pure but I cannot remember if we talked about it previously...

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 08:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
how would you "hang" it in the sump/refugium though?
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 10:51 PM   #10
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Best place in a sump would be suspended in a slotted plastic bowl or basket beneath the outflow of the skimmer. I would not place it in an actual refugium, the flow is too slow to be effective...

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to add GAC? Marc118 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 03-17-2007 08:09 PM
Poll: Do you run GAC? zenn Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 04-01-2006 02:37 PM
Cheap GAC dropping PH?? MT79 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 10-09-2005 01:53 PM
How can GAC help with diatoms? arminkropp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-12-2005 11:04 AM
GAC freaking me out Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-16-2004 01:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.