General sump question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Salttanker

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello all - I recently setup my 90G FO tank and I think all the equipment that was added: powerheads, skimmer, Fluval systems, heater, etc..takes away from the natural look of the tank. It looks soooooo cluttered. I would like to have this stuff hidden from view. I have read about a lot of people using sumps for underneathe the cabinet for accessories such as these.

Forgive me since I am new to the modern way of doing things, but I was wondering if someone could assist me in determining what I would need to accomplish this. Any info would be great.

This is a FO tank for now, but may turn it into a FOWLR later.

Thanks,

Mike

Hey Mike,

The simplest sump is simply a container of water underneath the tank. I use a Rubbermaid 15 gallon container I bought from Wal-Mart for $3. Works great. You can see pics of it in my gallery.

You will have to have a way to get the water down to the sump and then back up. For those of us without a pre-drilled tank (meaning there is no pre-built overflow box either inside the tank or on the outside) you will have to buy a HOB overflow or have your tank drilled and have an overflow installed. The allows the water to "overflow" from the tank into the sump. There are two types of HOB overflows. One is made by a company called CPR while the other is a generic U-style overflow box. I would suggest the U-style as it is less prone to fail and cause a flood than the CPR. I believe our sponsors actually carrry both.

Once in the sump, you will need a pump to return the water bank to the tank where the cycle continues. Mag drive pumps are great for this purpose.