Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2006, 03:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Yeah, I'm not going to do it myself. lol...It's only 10 bucks a hole for the pros here in town to do it.
__________________

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 04:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
The double returns would work fine, but i personally like having more than 2 sources of flow, just to create a more random flow, you know? I go for about 25 times turnover rate per hour with 4 sources of flow and it works pretty good. But i've got 2 small powerheads and one big one thats got a "Y" split on it, so therfore i got 4 sources to create randomness, which is needed for corals and to get rid of dead spots.
__________________

__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 07:00 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
I'm probobly going to have the double overflows and 2-3 returns, plus a pair of PH facing each other from the center to create turbulance.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 09:23 PM   #14
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m glad for you. Good Luck.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 11:38 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Thanks bro, I will keep updating with pics and information as I get stuff.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 12:11 AM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Just drill some holes for the overflows and have the returns come up over the lip of the tank. You could set up a closed loop running all the tank flow and then set up a modest overflow pump to keep flow in the sump/refuge down.

I would definately drill multiple holes for the drain to handle that kind of pump. Check out the Calfo style overflows. Incorporates a single overflow but multiple holes can be drilled to accomoadate the flow required.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:48 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
I don't want the returns to come over the top of the tank. Thats the whole point of me drilling for overflows anyway. The onlying I want going up and out the top of the tank is the cords for some power heads lol.
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 11:35 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
The point of having an overflow is to get the water to drain out of the tank. Getting it back in is the easy part I am sure what ever you plan will work for you. Might look into a closed loop though.

Good Luck.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 03:04 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Could I plum a closed loop into the same 'circut' as the overflow and return. Like shown here in my little drawing. The overflows would have to be designed to handle a tremendous amount of flow. If they ever ran dry then the pump would make a lot of noise and possibly burn up over time.

What are some other ways of doing a closed loop without having extra stuff in the aquarium?

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 09:25 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 298
No, that won't work. You will still only be able to pull as much water from the tank as will flow through the overflows. And, that system is still 'open' to the air. A closed loop is truely closed to the air. You need a circuit that is completely separate from your overflow/sump circuit. Either drill holes in the back of the tank for input into the CL pump, or rig up an 'over the top' input like a canister filter has. I've got a AGA 125 gallon that I'm setting up as a reef, I bought a cheap glass drill bit on eBay (about $9, including shipping), drilled two 1.5" holes, plumbed them together to the input to a Barracuda pump, and have the output going to a Calfo-style output manifold over the tank, works great.

Rather than stick all the pics here, and bog down this thread, I created a thread detailing (a bit of detail, anyway) my closed loop/manifold return:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...t=32357#725062
__________________

__________________
20 20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, 25 gallon, 5 gallon, reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
125 gallon reef tank pics melosu58 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 31 01-29-2010 04:08 PM
125 gallon reef tank mates Acronuts Show Off/Photography 3 12-04-2008 11:20 PM
125 gallon reef tank Acronuts Show Off/Photography 11 12-02-2008 11:26 PM
New 125 Gallon reef tank in da' makin' jgallo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 10-05-2006 02:40 PM
Have my new 125 gallon tank, what do I need for a reef setup gsxrguru2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-27-2005 05:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.