Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-04-2006, 11:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Getting another 125 gallon reef tank....wooo hooo

Okay well, I know I'm only like a month into the whole saltwater game....but well...I'm getting another tank lol...

I got a brand new 125 gallon tank and a really nice stand for it. I don't have it at the house yet, but I paid for it and all that.

I just build the sump for it tonight. It's a 55 gallon standard tempered tank. Nothing special, but I modified it to make a really spiffy sump/fuge...

I'm going to get the 125 drilled for an overflow in the center and a return on each side near the top of the tank.

I'm looking for a pretty big pump to act as my return pump from my sump. I want around 1500-2000 gph.

I'll probobly get a couple large PH for the tank as well. Probobly two of the bigger RIO PH.

I'm going to run 3 MH 300W for about a 7 wpg ratio.

I'm actually going to get the right kind of sand this time as opposed to the pool filter sand I used in my 37 gallon. (which is working just fine...)

This is going to be a long project for me and I'll probobly end up getting about 150 lbs of the best LR I can buy. Lalo

You'll be seeing me on a lot again throughout this project.
__________________

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 11:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
imo, i'd go with less flow thru the sump/fuge. You want the flow to be in the main tank, not so much the sump, tho you do have a good sized sump, so you might be ok..but usually the less flow in the fuge, the more the pods will grow. What will the overflows be rated to? And are you just getting the one overflow? You can only have as much flow as those will pull out in the sump. But i dont know any good pumps as i've never done anything on that large of a scale, srry.
__________________

__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 12:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,108
Send a message via AIM to hc8719 Send a message via MSN to hc8719
maybe i read this wrong, but a 50 gal sump?
__________________
"Atrocities are not less atrocities when they occur in laboratories and are called medical research."
George Bernard Shaw
hc8719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 12:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
Yeah thats right man. 55 gallon sump. Gonna be bad...

The overflow is going to be custom made...IE I'm going to make it. Shouldn't be a problem. It's going to have a 2"+ drain so it should be able to handle a lot of flow.

I understand you shouldn't have all that much flow through the fuge, but I'm trying to use more as flow in the tank than anything. Also, the fuge is huge so it shouldn't be a problem with a lot of flow.

Here is a pic of what I have done so far. I've still got a ways to go. that is a pair of the stock lights that came with that wal-mart tank. They should do just fine for the fuge. There is going to be tons of LR rubble in the first part on the left (the overflow, or input). Water will run over the top of that down to the fuge, witch will have lots of sand and LR, critters, ect ect. I'm going to put some egg crate over the next baffel and maybe run foam there. The return pump will be on the right side. Both the overflow side and the return side have plexi siliconed on top. I'm going to drill through that and mount the hoses on it.

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 12:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 130
Actually I think he said a 55 gal sump, which will be HUGE. Sounds nice though, good luck.
__________________
Learn from others' mistakes. There is not enough time for you to make them all!
Sparkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 09:45 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I used the Miracle Mud in my sump/fuge for a 155g and have a Mag 12 down there. The flow seems about perfect. I thought it would bee too much, but it worked out fine. Got rocks, tubeworms, sexy shrimp, macros, sponges, and other stuff growing down there and it's working out well. You should do well with that 55g. Can't wait to see it set up. I only did a 30" sump/fuge since I'm working with my skimmer and a 37g fresh water reservoir in the space below/cabinet. It really beats daily or every other day topoffs. I fill it up once every week and a half or so with FW. I'm using 3x150MH and 4x96PC and loose maybe 2 03 3 gallons daily.

What are your plans for top-offs? What's going in the sump/fuge?

Got room in the sump for UV pump? Skimmer pump? And of course your main return pump.

In mine below, the leftmost chamber has 2 Mag 7's in it for the UV & skimmer. That's also where the water returns from above. Got rock rubble in there too. The rightmost chamber (can't see either of'm here) has the Mag 12 for the main return. You going internal or external pump? I got a brand new Coralife 1270 if interested. 8)
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 10:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
i've seen a lot of people locally use 55's as a sump, so i guess i'm just used to it and dont think its that big lol. But then again some of them use 75's and bigger lol. Oh, and it wont be a full 55 gallons of water either...you dont fill it up all the way. But either way, that wil be an awsome sump
__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 11:24 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Sounds good. I`m happy for you. I still would think about the double overflow though.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 11:41 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
I'm not absolutely sure what I'm going to run in the sump right now, I'm not that far into it. But in the overflow chamber, I'm going to run a custom made skimmer. I don't think I will need a
UV sterilizer...but I have one on hand if I need to use it for some reason.

Would a UV sterilizer decrease the effects of ick? I'd have to run a closed loop for just the uv I think. Because all the other pumps will have to much flow and the uv will not get the exposure it needs.

I will think about the double overflow. It would probobly be better off in the long run, and that way I could run the returns facing the center of the tank for turbulance. I might do that. The only problem I am worried about is the drilling process. I'm so afraid the tank is going to crack during drilling that I wanted to minimize the number of holes that had to be drilled.

What experience have you all had with drilling tanks for overflows and returns?
__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 11:53 AM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
The double returns will cause plenty of flow in your tank. I have no PH`s in my tank due to the double returns. UV will help get rid of ick and algea spores. I run mine 24/7. Have not had ick or algea in tank for 7 yrs. Is it the UV or the other things I do in the tank. We will never know. I just know if it ain`t broke I`m not going to fix it. Dont drill yourself heard too many horror stories. Get a professional to do it!!!
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, 25 gallon, 5 gallon, reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
125 gallon reef tank pics melosu58 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 31 01-29-2010 04:08 PM
125 gallon reef tank mates Acronuts Show Off/Photography 3 12-04-2008 11:20 PM
125 gallon reef tank Acronuts Show Off/Photography 11 12-02-2008 11:26 PM
New 125 Gallon reef tank in da' makin' jgallo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 10-05-2006 02:40 PM
Have my new 125 gallon tank, what do I need for a reef setup gsxrguru2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-27-2005 05:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.