Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-22-2012, 03:51 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
Magma's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 339
I was just saying you can build a sort of "powerbar" that way doesnt have to be IG plugs it can be regulars or GFCI's just so you have the lights on there own outlet really.

125Gal-Mixed Reef
35gal Reef, 20gal Sump--2 years, 3 months--Shut Down
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem!
Magma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 04:49 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Originally Posted by Magma
something kind of like this is what hes trying to say

DIY Power bar

Ya this is what I was suggesting just with two gfci. If you look at the pic on the first page of the wiring on the back of the plugs, you don't want it like that, on a gfci you have two sets of terminals- line and load. You want to tie into line then jump out from line over to line on the other plug, this can also be achieved by splicing teo wires onto the wire from the cord and attching each one to the line terminal. This way if one trips the other will stay on.

kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:20 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
PrettyFishies's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,686
Anyone else notice the OP stopped replying?
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 01:01 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
KAhner's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 339
He pretty much made up his mind that he didn't want a gfci. His loss.
KAhner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:16 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Fluorescent liggts tend to not play well with gfci. I wouldnt hsve too much issue moving lights to a nongfci circuit, but moving the entire wet circuit over is a bad idea.

indy is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI rav General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-09-2012 04:50 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.