GHA out of control

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anthonygaliazzo

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ive been battleing greenhair for a good 6 months. Ive researched and tried every method out there to get rid of it. Bought ro unit, did a couple 50% wc, does nopox, cut chinese led intensity to 30% white 70 % blue with 6 hours per day. I have no live stock exept corals for the past 6 months. My corals are doing good

I noticed that my corals are always already opened when the lights turn on due to the daylight. Eventhough no direct sun ray are on the tank, could the daylight cause the gha to persist? Heres a shot of the tank before the lights turn onImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1425409379.284296.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1425409439.683718.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

There are two links to algae battling in my signature, but this is going to be a long one.
Plain and simple, you have a nutrient issue in your water column. Nitrates and phosphates. This comes from feeding way too much. I feed my reef tank every 3 days, sparingly.
Do water changes and top offs with ro/di water. This way there will be nothing in the water that can feed the algae. Large water changes with ro/di and manually removing the hair algae as you are doing the water changes.

You are going to hate me but here is my advice.