Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-20-2015, 11:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
Gha outbreak again

Last year I had a pretty bad green hair algae outbreak that has since been under control. Last week I did a 50% pwc and little did I know my ro/di system wasn't doing its job and needs replacing. So I'm currently using Walmart water again until I replace the filters. In the meantime I'm looking to get a new cuc, I would like to get a lawnmower Blenny and some inverts. What inverts should I get to help rid of these pesky plants?my last cuc had me doing most of the work keeping the algae out


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 12:24 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
I wouldn't look towards a cuc to clean it all up. In the end, this problem will be solved by exactly what you've already stated. Manual removal and getting your ro/di back down to 0 TDS so the nutrients get back down to 0 in your system.
Plain and simple, I use walmart distilled water in my system and I have algae. Til you are back up and running, you'll have it.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 12:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
It's just less manual labor is all. Kinda like a protein skimmer. Just makes things easier


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
Do I have to change the membrane on my ro/di system or could I get away with just doing the sediment, carbon, and resin? Usually I do all of them but I need a couple other things that would put me over my budget


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:54 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
You shouldn't always have to replace the membrane. It might just be the resin that needs replaced along with the filters.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 01:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
Thank god because I'm out of salt and have to many other costly things going on this week


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
So I've seen some people growing algae on a screen in there refugium. Will this also help it from growing in my tank or will it all die off when I get my ro/di water back. I guess I don't really understand what people grow it in the refugium for. Can I use it like I would macro algae Or is it more for feeding? Would it still grow in the dt if I just moved it to my refugium?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:49 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
That is called an algae turf scrubber, ATS. It will help it some, but is not a solution to all the problems. Mine runs great but there is still algae in my display.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 02:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
Will it die off or will the growth just slow down once I get my water back in check. Would it support a lawnmower Blenny or would I have to buy algae sheets


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outbreak

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gha outbreak Fattonynoriega Nano Reefs 3 11-22-2011 05:57 PM
GHA pat8you Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-25-2008 11:09 PM
PO4 tests in GHA struggle? Scoot Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-10-2008 12:25 PM
Jewels, again & again & again & again dragonzlair Cichlid Discussion 1 02-14-2006 01:26 PM
Cleaning GHA off of corals? Phyl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-12-2005 08:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.