Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-21-2004, 03:29 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
I ran my 40 gallon Hex without a sump for 10 years, then added a sump about 1 year ago for reasons 1 through 6.
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:53 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
all the reasons that fishfreak points out are the reasons that i have started my system with a sump. however, going sumpless peaks my interest. on another very high traffic forum, a lot of members have gone sumpless with good results. some of the points that they make are...

1. less electrical load
2. less heat if using a submersible pump
3. noiseless operation
4. no chance of overflowing system

not bad points. i think it comes down to personal preference. i also think that going sumpless on large systems probably works out better than smaller capacity systems.

at any rate, i just wanted to see what you all thought. i would like to have heard from those that are sumpless. on the other forum they said that many people don't say they are sumpless so that they don't get flak! however, on that forum, italso seems like the "sumpless" are beginning to come out of the closet!
__________________

__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:05 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
I think point 1 could be debated. If you use an efficent high output pump on the sump you can get by with less PH's in the tank. If you need more PH's in the main tank then your overall amperage might end up being as high with just Ph's for circulation as it would be with less Ph's and a large sump pump.

Point 3. Sumps can be made very quite. I have heard some that are no louder than a a decritive water fountin.


In the end it all comes down to what you want to do.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:19 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I had a FO tank for 7+ years before I even knew what a sump was. I do worry about overflows since I have had them happen. I like the non cluttered look though of a sump system.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:43 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angola, NY
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jbro
I have a question... My set-up is a 55GAL 3-sided. The overflow box to my sump is unsightly and noisy. Is there any reason why I could not extend the siphon u-tube and theoverflow box to just below the main tank, yet still above the sump? This would work out great if I can, because I can hide the overflow with a chair on one side. The only thing I can think of is higher head pressure in the overflow and prefilter, otherwise, I think it would work.
__________________
jbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:59 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Would that not make the overflow noisy? Can't you build a canopy so you can't see it?
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:05 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 307
@ jbro if I understand you right you want to move the secondary part of your overflow box below the water level of the Tank. Bad Idea unless you make sure that the capacity of that box is bigger than the amount of water feeding in your overflow box. So you don't syphon the the Tank volume on your floor if something clogs up.

I am runing a sump because I can see my tank from all four sides. That way I don't have to stick a lot of power heads in my tank and i that's the only way to have enough life rock without cluttering my tank.
__________________
Emancipate yourself from mental slavery,
No one but ourselves can free our minds.
Bob Marley
swissfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:06 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 59
In the middle of setting one up now. I have way too much stuff hanging off the sides/insides of my tank. I may also utilize this upside down sand bed approach.
It would be nice to keep the nitrates way down and perform water changes simply for trace elements
__________________
SaltySteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 08:04 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angola, NY
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jbro
Thanks, Swiss. I never thought of that. Better to prepare for the worst. I'll leave it the way it is and maybe build a canope (thanks Elisz). Now, another question: I had somebody very reputable help me set this sump up. He says that I do not need any biofiltration in the sump, no LR, no bioballs. I have 60lbs LR in main tank (55 GAL) + 3-4" CC with 6lbs LS. Do you think he's right, or should I add LR to sump? BTW I switched from UGF to sump about a month ago, just closed it up. Water parameters have always been fine with the exception of nitrates (20-40ppm). I'm hoping this new set up and PS will take care of nitrates. If not, should I add something bio to the sump?
__________________
jbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 08:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
fishfreak...

good point about the electrical load and you are right about keeping the sump quiet. mine is pretty quite except for the external sump pump.s

good discussion. i think there are good points for both sides.
__________________

__________________
SW - 75 gal
Amiracle SL-350 Wet/Dry (no bio-balls)
AquaC EV-180 Skimmer w/Mag 7
2ea Maxi-Jet 1200 & 2ea Maxi-Jet 900 PH
Captive Purity Refractometer w/Calibrator
LCD Digital 250 W Titanium Heater
48in Coralife 4x65 watt PC
Won Pro Heat II
Tunz level alarm
Approx. 200lbs Sand (3-4" DSB)
RO/DI unit - 110 GPD

Please feel free to advise me!
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to Put Carbon, Etc in "Sumpless" Tanks AndyH5512 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-10-2006 04:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.