Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2006, 09:09 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
yea good idea i was able to get most if not all of it out by wetting the razor and yes it came with a canopy but im not sure not sure if i will use it or just leave it off yet
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 12:57 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Nice looking tank/stand for $175 hackteck I’d keep the canopy personally since it would be much easier to DIY with mh/pc/vho lighting. Can’t wait to see it setup.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 01:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
One concearn. This is a large tank. With water and rock and sand you are looking at 1500+ lbs. That is almost a ton.

Are you sure that the flooring in your house will be able to support the weight?
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 01:31 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
jasno999, good point but you are off a bit on the weight.

The water alone would weigh 1,501.2 lbs. (180 gal X 8.34)
Stand is probably near 120-150 lbs
Tank 80+ lbs
sand 200-400 lbs
lr needed would be anywhere from 270-360 lbs
canopy/lights another 60-100 lbs
40 gal Sump 350+ lbs

Looking closer to 2900+ lbs and first floor with a cement slab would be best. If putting on second floor or if you don’t have a cement slab then extra bracing would be highly recommended.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 01:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jasno999 Send a message via MSN to jasno999
Thanks for the correction. Major point was to make it clear that typical homes are nto designed to take that weight.
__________________
jasno999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 01:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
yea i have an area already cleared for it , ex dining room area its contrete no carpet i already took that into account thanks though
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 02:49 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 697
how are you going to plumb that monster? If you're not going to drill it(maybe you are, idk)...the overflows and returns are going to be a complex maze. I'm sure you've got something planned but i was just wondering how you plan to filter the water.
__________________
75g reef
zenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:19 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i'm actually going with a wet/dry with an overflow box and pump ive already ordered it, the wet/dry is for aquariums upto 200 gallons, i also plan to take the 100 lbs or so of lr out of my 55g, and add another 150 lbs or so of lr and some baserock that should be enough i would think for filtration, dont ask me about the water movement(powerheads etc) and all that because thats still very confusing to me how i'm going to get water movement through a 30" tall tank lol
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 05:20 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
If you can afford it I’d get a couple of Tunze Turbelle power heads and put them on a controller.

If not Seio Super Pumps do a great job of moving a ton of water at reasonable prices but can’t be cycled on/off.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 06:33 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
thanks for the links the light is going to be by far the most exspensive item, those Seio Super Pumps seem like a very affordable option
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55 g tank bought today... papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-28-2007 06:53 PM
got my tank ETC today turboTSI New Acquisitions 11 01-28-2007 10:29 PM
divided my tank today manda Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-10-2006 08:42 PM
New tank additions today. Brenden New Acquisitions 9 11-04-2005 06:17 PM
Got some new guys for my tank today... Gordinho80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-01-2005 11:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.