Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2004, 01:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
gotta a question

just got my MH parabolic with mogul today. i was under the impression that all a i have to do is plug it into the ballast and away you go. but when i opened up the box there was no plug on the mogul set. it just has a black and white wire sticking out.

do i just get a plug and wire it on and plug it into the ballast?

sorry about the dunb question but electricity is not my forte.

thanks

mark
__________________

__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 01:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
here it is
__________________

__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 02:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
I think this is typical. If you buy a ballast, they assume that it's a DIY project. My replacement PC ballast came this way. Perhaps you need to buy a power cord like >> this one <<.
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 02:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
the ballast i have just has the two pug-ins. i kinda figured thats all i needed but i wanted to check with you experts

mark
__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 03:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
yeah those two wires go to the ballast, and from the ballast you need a plug cord and wire those together to get power from the outlet
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sometimes I just gotta learn myself... 20 20 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 04-09-2006 10:44 PM
Gotta Have it! sdellin Aquaria Off-Topic 8 01-14-2006 10:04 PM
Just gotta say thanks... BlueCrystalMan Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 0 07-08-2004 10:27 PM
Lighting Question (gotta love em) two11devan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-14-2003 04:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.