green algae on my tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yurithon0528

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi there..im new to saltwater aquarium..im just wondering if anyone can help me understand if green algae growing on my tank is ok?or how can i solve this problem?i would appreciate it if anyone can help.thanks..

The salinity level is within limit. Feeding is 3x a day in small amounts. i use tap water,lighting is on most of d time i use halogen lamp...

Welcome to the forum!!!

What are your water parameters? Ammonia, nitritre and nitrate? The algae is most likely being caused by tthe tap water and overfeeding. Unless oyu have a needy fish you can feed just once a day. And if you can buy your water from the fish store that would help even more. Since your mixing your own salt water you can also get ro/di water from your local supermarket from one of those machines for 30 cents a gallon.

Distilled water is fine. But a halogen light? That's your culprit. It is too yellow, that's why you have algae.

From what I have read distilled is actually better than RO/DI. Distilled water is the water vapor from boiling water. RO/DI is easier to do yourself plus you don't have to buy it. Don't get me wrong I have my own RO/DI so that's what I use. Sry didn't mean to hijack thread.

carey said:
Welcome to the forum!!!
you can also get ro/di water from your local supermarket from one of those machines for 30 cents a gallon.

Not to nit pick, but those machines are only RO, they do not have DI.

The machines I got my water from were in fact ro/di. Had little pictures of every filter and an explanation on the front. They were also were inspected weekly with a log on the front as here in florida its considered a "food product".

Not sure about the walmart machines though, but I know my publix and winn dixie were the same.

carey said: