Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-21-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Nicholashendrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Green algae problem

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4082917910.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	149.2 KB
ID:	126628

I am having a problem wit this green algae! I hav done regular water changes and bought some products but my phosphate level is still high ! Is there any other way to get rid of this stuff !!! Pls help !! Thanks
__________________

__________________
Nicholashendrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Do you use RO/DI water?
__________________

__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Nicholashendrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
I use RO water ... I did a 70 liter water change today ... Hopefully this will start to help .
__________________
Nicholashendrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
RO water has a lower TDS reading than tap, but still obviously higher than RODI b/c RO/DI should have 0 TDS. The hair algae feeds off of phosphates, which come from the water. You are basically feeding it by w/ the excess nutrients from the water...
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I had to add a DI filter to stop my algae problem due to too much phosphates.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Nicholashendrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Ya i spoke to the people at the shop and he said that i must try and get my phosphate level down and also bring my alk level up !!
__________________
Nicholashendrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
I don't know what the alkalinity has to do with it..?
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Alk has nothing to do with algae (that I know of).... but, yeah, you need RODI water, not just RO. An RO unit removes 95%-98% of impurities, the DI resin removes the rest.....but all algae needs to get going is 0.04ppm phosphates.
__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Nicholashendrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Well i no the alk level doesnt hav anything to do wit it but the guy said my level is low and need to het it up ... Ya my phosphate level is i think at .16 so very high !! So u guys think regular water changes ... Any product i can get that will help also ??
__________________
Nicholashendrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Do you have fish, if so, how often are you feeding them? Are you rinsing the food?

Have you tested the water that you are using to do your water changes?

And what is your actual alk level & what kind of corals do you have? The local store could be telling you this to sell additional items.

You can run a GFO reactor to reduce your phosphates, but that's not taking care of the root problem of where your phosphates are coming from, which is what you really need to concentrate on.
__________________

__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, green algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.